This is the "Home" page of the "MGT 2220 (Online) Annotated Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MGT 2220 (Online) Annotated Bibliography  

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2016 URL: http://berkeleycollege.libguides.com/MGT2220/AnnotatedBibliography Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

From your Librarian

This is a library assignment guide for MGT 2220. Each tab on this guide will help you use the correct resources for this assignment.  If you need help you can access a librarian by clicking on the Find Help tab, or chat live with a librarian by using the green ASK US button on the right. 

 

Learning Outcomes

• Students will be able to accurately discern and summarize an article’s main argument, its sources of evidence, and its methodology.

• Students will be able to cite sources properly in MLA style.

• Students will use appropriate controlled vocabulary to navigate subject/discipline-specific databases, identify gaps in information gathered, and employ alternative search tools—including bibliographies and citations to find additional materials.

Other Helpful LibGuides

Management
by Marlene Doty - Last Updated Apr 17, 2017
286 views this year
 

Chat with a Librarian!

 

Your Assignment

Students will construct an annotated bibliography for a topic/question related to management. An annotated bibliography is a list of citations of articles, books, and other publications on a particular topic. Each citation is followed by a relatively brief paragraph that summarizes the source’s argument and other relevant material including its intended audience, sources of evidence, and methodology. The assignment will be started in class and completed outside of class. Before beginning the assignment, please read the rubric for the assignment.

Using two scholarly articles, each student will create a “summarizing” annotated bibliography for a “management topic” selected.

Summarizing annotations in general have a couple of defining features:

• They sum up the content of the source, as a book report might.
• They give an overview of the arguments and proofs/evidence addressed in the work and note the resulting conclusion.
• They do not judge the work they are discussing.
• When appropriate, they describe the author’s methodology or approach to material. For instance, you might mention if the source is a case study.

For the assignment, students will:

• Select a relevant management topic (management styles of men and women, money as a motivator, ethics in the workplace, etc).
• Select 2 relevant sources from those identified in the search exercise. The sources should be scholarly.
• Properly cite each source in MLA format.
• Write an annotation for each source. The one-paragraph, single-spaced annotation should succinctly summarize the source’s argument, sources of evidence, and methodology.

 

 

Assignment Rubric

To get full five points you must get maximum points for each criteria. So to get perfect 5 score, you need a 2.5 for summary, 1.5 for sources, and 1 point for formatting.

 

Novice

Competent

Proficient

 

Formatting

Points:

(0%)

Citation is not formatted properly. MLA style is violated for both citations.

Points:

.5 (10%)

Citation is formatted correctly for at least one of the annotations.

Points:

(20%)

Citations are formatted accurately. MLA format is without error.

 

Sources

Points:

(0%)

Both sources are not scholarly. But articles are relevant.

Points:

.75 (15%)

At least one source is scholarly.

Points:

1.5 (30%)

All sources are scholarly and relevant to topic.

 

Summary

Points:

(20%)

Summary does not identify author's argument or methodology in either summary. Yet,a relevant idea from one article is noted.

Points:

1.75 (35%)

At least one summary identifies author's argument and methodology.

Points:

2.5 (50%)

Both summaries identify author's argument and methodology.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip