A Guide to Military and Veterans Affairs at Berkeley College and beyond.
- Using The Berkeley College Library
In order to use library materials, you must have a library card. If you are a campus based student, you can obtain your library card at your local campus library. If you are online based student, please do the following:
1. log on to Blackboard
2. click on the library tab
3. click on "Register-Library Services" and register.
Once you find a book, click on the "HOLD" button under the book Icon and enter your library card information and select the location where you will pick up the book. Online students will receive books at home.
- EBook Central
142,352 titles covering course topics.
An additional 110,185 titles available on Demand
Read online or download to multiple devices.
- EBSCOHost EBooks
Collection of 7000 titles.
Browse by category.
Read online, download, save, email, create notes, cite.
Dictionary of Military Terms
Publication Date: 2007-03-20
Publication Date: 2010-10-29
Publication Date: 2010
Partnered with hard-line officer Tony Stone, Sgt. Will Montgomery is a battle-scarred war hero home from Iraq and newly assigned to the Army's Casualty Notification service. He faces this formidable mission while seeking comfort and healing back on the home front when he falls for the wife of a fallen soldier.
When I Come Home
A film about homeless veterans in America, especially those who served in Vietnam and those returning from the current war in Iraq. The film reveals the challenges faced by returning combat veterans and the battle many must fight after they come home. Includes the story of Iraq War veteran Herold Noel who suffers from post traumatic stress disorder and lives out of his car in Brooklyn. Exposes a failing system and our veterans' fight for survival after returning home from war.
- List of Military Libraries
List from the Military Libraries Division of the Special Libraries Association
- DOD: Military Libraries
Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, Navy
- United States Military Academy Library at West Point (USMA)
The USMA library will function as the academic heart of West Point and become one of the premier undergraduate libraries in the United States.
- Pritzker Military Library
Just minutes away from Navy Pier, Water Tower, and Chicago's Magnificent Mile, the Pritzker Military Library is free and open to the public, with live events and a collection of books, posters, photographs, and other fascinating artifacts that tell the story of the Citizen Soldier in American military history.
- How to Request Military Service Records or Prove Military Service
Military personnel records can be used for proving military service, or as a valuable tool in genealogical research. Most veterans and their next-of-kin can obtain free copies of their DD Form 214 (Report of Separation) and other military and medical records several ways.
- Services and Resources for Veterans
The National Archives and Records Administration can help veterans to obtain copies of their Military Service Records such as separation documents and medical records, and to get started with personal or historical research. We're also often the first step in obtaining important veterans benefits.
- Services and Resources For Veterans' Families, Dependents and Next-of-Kin
The National Archives can help families, next-of-kin and descendants of veterans to obtain copies of Military Service Records such as separation documents and medical records, and to get started with genealogical or historical research.
- Online Veterans and Military Documents
While most our holdings are not online, a variety of military records, from photos to documents to searchable databases are available. On the website are online collections of specific interest to veterans, their families and researchers.
News on Veterans topics including commentary, archival articles and multimedia published in The New York Times.