This is the "Health Studies" page of the "Health Studies Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Studies Resources  

Lists and Links for topics related to Health Studies programs
Last Updated: Jun 14, 2017 URL: http://berkeleycollege.libguides.com/healthcare Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Health Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SCHOOL OF HEALTH STUDIES

Photo of students

Health Sciences
Medical Assistant
Surgical Technology
Patient Care Tech
Practical Nurse
Surgical Processing Tech

 

Chat with a Librarian!

 

Topic List

Disease Overviews  

Anatomy  

EKG  

Electronic Books

Evidence Based Practice

Foreign Language &
Cultural Competency

 Healthcare Search Engines

 Heart & Lung Sounds  

 Infectious Disease  

 Journals & Articles

 Library Catalog

 Medical Images

 Medical Insurance & Coding

 Medical Law and Ethics  

 Medical Terminology

 Nursing  

 Patient Education  

 Pharmacology

 Phlebotomy

 Psychology  

 Statistical Data

 Substance Abuse

 Surgical Processing Technicians

 Surgical Technologists

 Surgical Videos  

 User Guides

 Anchor

DISEASE OVERVIEWS

  Websites:

  • MEDLINE Plus - National Library of Medicine's site. Includes medical encyclopedia, directories, dictionary, drug information, surgery videos and links to reputable web sites on diseases and conditions. Scroll to the right side of page for Spanish version.
  • EasyBib Research - search engine to reliable Internet sites
  • eMedicine - Disease information and eMedicine clinical procedures
  • Medscape - News, drug info, nurses resource center. Free registration required.
  • Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - for healthcare professionals
  • PubMed Health -Contains  easy to read summaries of medical reviews, guidelines,  and clinical effectiveness research

ANATOMY

 EKG

  E-Books:

  Websites:       

 ELECTRONIC BOOKS

A - Z List of Healthcare  E-Books

EVIDENCE BASED PRACTICE

FOREIGN LANGUAGE & CULTURES

General Dictionaries & Translation Sites

Medical Dictionaries

Spanish

Multicultural

HEALTHCARE SEARCH

HEART & LUNG SOUNDS

INFECTIOUS DISEASE

JOURNALS & ARTICLES

MEDICAL IMAGES

MEDICAL INSURANCE & CODING
E-Books / Databases:

Websites:

MEDICAL LAW AND ETHICS
 E-Books / Databases:

 Websites:

MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY

NURSING
 E-Books / Databases:

  Websites, including ones with CE articles:

PATIENT EDUCATION

PHARMACOLOGY
 E-Books / Databases:

 Websites:

  • DailyMed (includes tabs for indications, usage, contraindications, adverse reactions, dosage, patient counseling, etc. from FDA package inserts- Search by generic or brand name)
  • FDA Drug Index (from the Food and Drug Administration - includes approval history, medication guide, therapeutic equivalents)
  • Institute for Safe Medication Practices (includes medication safety alerts, high alert medication lists, Do Not Use abbreviations list]
  • MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs & Supplements (these patient handouts include both prescription and over the counter drugs)
  • NLM Drug Portal (includes Drug Category descriptions & lists)
  • PDR.net (registration required for full monograph, but most information available without it. Has prescription and some OTC drugs)

PHARMACOLOGY - PATIENT INFORMATION
 Websites:

PHLEBOTOMY

 PSYCHOLOGY

 E-Books / Databases:

 Websites:


STATISTICAL DATA

SUBSTANCE ABUSE

SURGICAL PROCESSING TECHNICIANS
  E-Books:

  Websites:

SURGICAL TECHNOLOGISTS
 E-Books / Databases:

  Websites:

SURGICAL VIDEOS

USER GUIDES

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip