Welcome to the Career Search and Exploration section on the LibGuide.

If you have any questions regarding your Career Search, please contact your Career Counselor.

What Can I Do With My Major?

What Can I Do With My Major?

Instructions:

1. Go > berkeleycollege.edu

2. Click > Student Life

3. Click > Career Services

4. Scroll down > What Can I do With This Major? should be under "GettingHired"

indeed Career Guide
Explore Careers by Industry

Berkeley Connect

Use Berkeley Connect to apply to open jobs and internships – to access the portal, click here: https://engage.berkeleycollege.edu/default/student_portal/_/career_services

BerkeleyConnect for Students

How to upload your resume and all documents:

Click on the button that states Student Support

Click on Career Services

Once in Career Services’ Page, Click on BerkeleyConnect – Students

Log into BerkeleyConnect using your Berkeley email and password

Once logged in, click on My Profile at the top menu and then click “My Documents”

On this screen, you will be able to upload your resume and documents.

BerkeleyConnect for Alumni

How to upload your resume and all documents:

Click on the button that states “How Do I Connect With Departments?”

Scroll down to the bottom and Click on Career Services

Once in Career Services’ Page, Click on BerkeleyConnect – Alumni

Log into BerkeleyConnect using your Berkeley email and password

Once logged in, click on My Profile at the top menu and then click “My Media”

On this screen, you will be able to upload your resume and document.

How to use BerkeleyConnect

CareerShift

CareerShift
Recognizing the need for more systematic, effective tools for online job hunters, CareerShift was created to help job seekers successfully navigate the published and hidden job market to find career opportunities. CareerShift has offered an online set of integrated applications proven to help job seekers since 2007.

How to obtain your Free Account:

- Click sign up and enter required information at www.CareerShift.com.
- Select a security question and answer.
- Answer the human verifier question.
- Check user agreement.
- Leave the Group ID as is. Do not change
- Check the I’m not a robot box.
- Click Next.
- When prompted use access code: berkeleyknights
- Answer required question.
- You will be brought to your CareerShift account.

CareerShift Job Searching

Tips for a Successful Job Search

United States Department of Labor Resources

United States Department of Labor
To foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.
O*NET OnLine
O*NET OnLine is an application that was created for the general public to provide broad access to the O*NET database of occupational information. O*NET OnLine offers a variety of search options and occupational data, while My Next Move is a streamlined application for students and job seekers. Both applications were developed for the U.S. Department of Labor by the National Center for O*NET Development.
United States Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration
Career One Stop
CareerOneStop is your source for employment information and inspiration, the place to manage your career, your pathway to career success, and tools to help job seekers, students, businesses and career professionals. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. A proud partner of the American Job Center Network.

Databases and Resources

Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest’s Career Collection.
Plunkett's Research: Industry statistics This link opens in a new window
Industry profiles, statistics, data, and market research trend articles.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection with over 3500 titles in business, economics, law, and criminal justice.
Public performance rights for classroom and course use or embedded into Canvas courses.

Book Resources

Building Your Career Portfolio by Carol A. Poore
ISBN: 1564145409
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
This is not just another book about resumes or job interviews. Building Your Career Portfolio is a unique approach that will help readers discover their professional purpose and build a more directed career. By assessing which career-related activities are valuable, they will become more prepared to face change, and better equipped for new career options and opportunities instead of feeling trapped and frustrated.
Career Management and Work-Life Integration by Brad Harrington; Douglas T. Hall
ISBN: 9781412937450
Publication Date: 2007-05-16
Career Management & Work/Life Integration: Using Self-Assessment to Navigate Contemporary Careers is a comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide to managing contemporary careers. Although grounded in theory, the book also provides an extensive set of exercises and activities that can guide career management over the lifespan. Authors Brad Harrington and Douglas T. Hall offer a highly useful self-assessment guide for students and other individuals who want to deal with the challenge of succeeding in a meaningful career while living a happy, well-balanced life. Key FeaturesBridges theory and application: While the book helps readers gain a better understanding of theories on careers, work life, and human resources, it also guides them to develop a tailored, personalized career strategy for themselves. Offers a rigorous self-assessment process: Serving as the book's foundation, this self-assessment guide gives readers a wealth of information and insight regarding their own career priorities and strategies.Provides a more thorough experiential view than existing books: This book integrates work from both the career management and the work life field while most academic literature treats these two areas separately.Intended AudienceCareer Management & Work/Life Integration is a great resource for employers and career planning offices. This book will also by ideal for undergraduate and graduate courses in Career Management; Leadership Development; Organizational Behavior; and Human Resource Management in the departments of business, management, and organizational psychology. Instructor's Resources Available upon request, an instructor's resource CD accompanies the book and includes such teaching aids as PowerPoint slides, and teaching notes for each chapter, as well as assignments, key concepts, and terms for each chapter. Meet the author! http://www2.bc.edu/~harrinb
The Career Playbook by James M. Citrin
ISBN: 9780553446968
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
Are you about to graduate and begin your job search? Or are you a young professional trying to choose the right field or looking for that perfect position that will catapult your career? Figuring out a career and getting a great job has never been more difficult. On top of that, today's graduates are looking for not only good jobs but positions that will help them launch careers in which they can grow and prosper. But knowing what to look for and how to actually land a great job is exceptionally challenging when you're trying to get an interview, make enough money, and position yourself for advancement. Based on an in-depth survey of thousands of graduates and young professionals, and hundreds of interviews with the world's top business and nonprofit leaders--not to mention James Citrin's decades of experience as a senior partner at the premier executive search firm Spencer Stuart--The Career Playbook offers recent graduates and aspiring young professionals actionable advice for excelling. From his practical tips on generating valuable introductions, nailing interviews, and negotiating compensation to strategic advice on the arc of a career, the importance of relationships, how to cultivate a mentor, and knowing when to change jobs or industries, Citrin provides an invaluable guide to the most urgent questions that are at the heart of every person's career deliberations. Packed with first-person advice from graduates and young professionals themselves, as well as the perspectives of seasoned CEOs, entrepreneurs, leaders, and experts, such as Virgin's Sir Richard Branson, Facebook's Sheryl Sandberg, Third Point Advisors' Daniel Loeb, author Malcolm Gladwell, and US Navy SEALs' Admiral Eric Olson, The Career Playbook is an essential resource for landing, launching, and thriving in your career.
Driving the Career Highway by Janice Reals Ellig; William J. Morin
ISBN: 9780785220145
Publication Date: 2007-04-29
As leaders of prestigious executive search firms and organizational consulting firms, Janice Reals Ellig and William J. Morin have decades of experience working with people who failed to see the signs of trouble in their careers-or to read them right. These two experts have distilled the twenty most compelling problems and situations that can cause a person to detour, stall, get lost, or crash and burn on their career highway.
Smart things to know about your career by John Middleton
ISBN: 1841121142
Publication Date: 2002-02-15
Tactics for getting on the inside track to the very top - from communicating with your boss to making a splash on your first day.
Career Renegade by Jonathan Fields
ISBN: 9780767927413
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
There’s a revolution brewing across the nation--a movement that’s changing lives and revealing little known paths to passion and prosperity. It’s about building a great living around what you love to do most. Once you’ve been touched by it, you’ll never be the same. This book is your way in, your admission ticket to the world of the career renegade. Jonathan Fields, mega-firm lawyer turned successful lifestyle entrepreneur, blogger and writer shows you how to turn your passion–whether it’s cooking or copy-writing, teaching or playing video games–into a better payday and a richly satisfying life. * Discover the 7 career renegade paths to prosperity * Tap technology to turn a seemingly moneyless passion into a goldmine * Rapidly test and tune your idea for free, from the comfort of your couch * Establish yourself as an authority in a new field with little or no investment * Cultivate the mission-driven, action-oriented career renegade mindset * Rally others to your cause, and convince them you’re not nuts Join the movement now…and take back your livelihood and life!
Career Warfare by David F. D'Alessandro
ISBN: 0071597298
Publication Date: 2008-07-02
With the latest stories from D'Alessandro's never ending collection of corporate derring-do and new insight on the global battlefield, the nationally bestselling Career Warfare is more essential than ever when navigating your way to success. "D'Alessandro dares to speak the truth. If you don't manage your own reputation, those around you will.This is no theoretical exercise. In corporate America,people talk about you every day. You can affect what they say.
Career Mapping by Ginny Clarke; Echo Garrett
ISBN: 9781600379901
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
The world of work has changed forever. Not only have jobs been lost, many will never return---at least not in the same form we are used to. "Career Mapping" guides you through the tangled expressways of career options to help you design your personalized road map to create job and career choices. Ginny Clarke wrote this book with one purpose: to help people like you discover the path to a rewarding work life. A template for figuring out who you are and what you can offer to the work world, this book emerged from Ginny's own experiences as a college recruiter, executive recruiter and a woman who broke through to the executive ranks in two male-dominated industries. No matter where you find yourself---just starting out, navigating the corporate maze, launching a new business, or in anticipation of retirement, "Career Mapping" is written for you. It offers case studies of people at different stages of their careers, and provides a step-by-step process for customizing your own job hunting and career management strategies. Each chapter presents thought-provoking questions, candid revelations from her own inspiring journey and vital advice from Ginny's experiences interviewing, recruiting and coaching thousands of professionals and executives. "Career Mapping" explains the oft-misunderstood executive search process and demystifies how you can make yourself a more desirable job candidate---as well as how to avoid the devastating pitfalls that have derailed careers.

FOCUS 2 Career and Education Planning Systems

FOCUS 2 CAREER guides your students through a reliable, intuitive career & education decision making model to help them choose majors offered at your college, explore occupations & make informed career decisions. Our cutting edge design engages students in the career planning process helping them to plan for and achieve career success throughout their lifetime.

How to set up your account and log in to FOCUS 2

New Users:

Create your account by registering for FOCUS 2. You can link to the registration and log in pages for FOCUS 2 from the Career Service’s webpage:

https://bit.ly/BerkeleyFOCUS2

The FOCUS 2 Access Code: berkeleyknights

Returning Users:

Login Page: https://bit.ly/BerkeleyFOCUS2LogIn
Access your account anytime by entering your username and password on the log in page for FOCUS 2. The log in is cAse seNsitive.
If you forget your user name and password, go to the log in page to have it emailed to you.

Things to Keep in Mind

Use FOCUS 2 online on any phone, tablet, PC or MAC computer or IPAD anywhere, anytime.
FOCUS 2 always saves your results. Use FOCUS 2 as often as you wish and in any order..
You can change your mind about earlier choices, repeat a section and explore new options.
Your results are stored online and are always available to you and your career counselor/adviser.
Remember to save the majors and occupations that appeal to you as you review them.

The main menu layout mirrors the steps of the career planning process. Most students start at the top of the main menu and then work down through the FOCUS 2 tools.

Career Exploration & Research Tools