This is the "New York Public Library" page of the "Public Libraries in NYC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Libraries in NYC  

Use this guide to help you navigate the fantastic resources available throughout the NYC public library systems.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2017 URL: http://berkeleycollege.libguides.com/nypubliclibraries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

New York Public Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About NYPL

One of the world's largest public library systems, with branches spanning Manhattan, the Bronx, and Staten Island, is right at our fingertips!

At Berkeley's Midtown campus, we are just steps away from the famous Schwarzman Building (the one with the lions). This main branch is not only beautiful to wander through, but houses multiple art exhibitions each year. It also holds thousands of reference materials, archives, and other books, and provides ample space for studying and public computer use.

Stephen A. Schwarzman Building

Just as close is the Mid-Manhattan Library branch, containing a wide-ranging collection of popular books, older and classic fiction, DVDs, CDs, and more for patrons of all ages. Laptops and desktops are available by reservation for public use.

Mid-Manhattan Library

A short walk will get you to the Science, Industry and Business Library (SIBL), which offers an extensive collection of materials, programs, and services dedicated to helping those working in business or studying in business and technical areas. Research help is available, along with special databases only accessible on-site.

. Science, Industry and Business Library (SIBL)

Website In a Nutshell

The New York Public Library's website can sometimes be hard to navigate. Here are some starting links to get you headed in the right direction!

  • Get a Library Card
    Sign up for a library card to take advantage of more NYPL resources.
  • Calendar of Classes
    Search for classes and events at any branch for patrons of all ages.
  • English Classes
    Find out how to participate in free English language learning courses (and other language courses) through NYPL.
  • Job and Career Assistance
    NYPL offers workshops, consultations, job listings, and other resources to help you embark on a successful job hunt.
  • Computing
    Learn about computing resources available at NYPL branches and find out how to reserve computers or get Wifi access.
  • Search for Books
    Search the NYPL catalog to find books, e-books, and media for check-out, plus access to digital research collections.
  • Find Articles for Research
    Browse hundreds of databases to gain access to articles in all subjects (some are accessible from home, others are on-site only).
 

Expand Your Resources!

Did you know?

Through NYPL you can gain access to:

  • Lynda.com, an online collection of training and tutorial materials to help develop your skills, including software use and major concepts in a wide variety of career areas

  • JSTOR, an extensive article database covering many subjects in the liberal arts and sciences, available on-site only (plus many additional non-Berkeley databases)

  • Mango Languages, a series of interactive language-learning lessons, with nearly 40 languages available

  • A large collection of e-books for download, both academic and popular

  • Vast historical news and data repositories, and digital collections of primary source materials

  • Bookshare, a service giving patrons with print disabilities free access to accessible ebooks and audiobooks from home
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip