Health Studies Resources

Disease Overviews    Anatomy    EKG    Electronic Books  Evidence Based Practice  Foreign Language &           Cultural Competency

Heart & Lung Sounds    Infectious Disease    Journals & Articles  Library Catalog  Medical Images  Medical Insurance & Coding

Medical Law & Ethics    Medical Terminology  Nursing    Patient Education    Pharmacology  Pharmacology for patients       Phlebotomy

Psychology    Statistical Data  Substance Abuse  Surgical Processing Technicians  Surgical Technologists  Surgical Videos    User Guides

 Anchor

DISEASE OVERVIEWS

• Gale Ebooks - formerly GVRL (contains Encyclopedias of Medicine, Nursing & Allied Health, Surgery, Mental Health)
• Professional Guide to Diseases, 11th ed., 2020 (OVID)
• Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice 11th ed., 2019 (OVID)
• Davis's Diseases & Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual, 7th ed., 2022 (STAT!Ref)

  Websites:

• MEDLINE Plus - National Library of Medicine's site. Includes medical encyclopedia, directories, dictionary, drug information, surgery videos and links to reputable web sites on diseases and conditions. Scroll to the right side of page for Spanish version.
• eMedicine - Disease information and eMedicine clinical procedures
• Medscape - News, drug info, nurses resource center. Free registration required.
• Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - for healthcare professionals

​ANATOMY

• Anatomy Atlases
• Anatomy & Physiology Made Incredibly Easy! 4th ed. (OVID)
• Anatomy & Physiology Made Incredibly Visual! (OVID)
• Anatomy & Physiology Training Modules
• Anatomy Videos (from MedlinePlus & ADAM)
• eSkeletons
• Essentials of Anatomy & Physiology 8th ed., 2019 (STAT!Ref)
• Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
• Inner Body
• MedlinePlus: Anatomy
• Web Anatomy (quizzes)

 EKG

  E-Books:

• ECG Interpretation: an Incredibly Easy Pocket Guide, 3rd ed., 2017 (Ebook Central)
• Pocket Tutor: ECG Interpretation, 2nd ed., 2018 (Ebook Central)

  Websites:       

• ECG Learning Center in Cyberspace
• ECG Library

 ELECTRONIC BOOKS

• Britannica Encyclopedia
• Ebook Central (ProQuest)
• EBSCOhost eBook Collection
• GALE Virtual Reference Library - GVRL (includes Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health / Encyclopedia of Medicine / Encyclopedia of Mental Health / Encyclopedia of Surgery & Medical Tests)
• Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy for healthcare professionals

A - Z List of Healthcare  E-Books

• AAFP Conditions A to Z.
• Anatomy & Physiology Made Incredibly Easy! 4th ed. (OVID)
• CPT 2018 - Optum® Current Procedure Codes with RVUs (STAT!Ref)
• Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses - 16th ed. (2019) 
• Differentiating Surgical Instruments - 2nd ed. (2012)
• Diseases and Disorders (STAT!Ref)
• Kaplan & Saddock's Synopsis of Psychiatry (STAT!Ref)
• Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
  For Health Care students: Encyclopedias of Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health, Surgery and Medical Tests, Mental Health
• Handbook of Pathophysiology
• Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
• LPN Expert Guides: ECG Interpretation
• LPN Expert Guides: Wound Care
• Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests
• Medical-Surgical Nursing: Critical Reasoning in Patient Care   
• Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures
• Nursing Care Plans & Documentation
• Pocket Guide to the Operating Room
• Portable LPN: the All-in-One Reference for Practical Nurses
• Professional Guide to Diseases - 10th ed. (OVID)
• Professional Guide to Signs and Symptoms
• Stedman's Dictionary  
• Surgical Care Made Incredibly Visual!
• Surgical Mayo Setups (2nd ed.) 

EVIDENCE BASED PRACTICE

• Evidence Based Practice Toolkit for Nursing
• Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step - AJN Articles (free) & CE Activities 
• Guidelines Trust - evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from ECRI
• McGill University Evidence-Based Practice Resources - An Interactive Guide
• TRIP database

FOREIGN LANGUAGE & CULTURES

Medical Dictionary

• Health Information in Multiple Languages

Spanish

• infoSIDA (AIDS info in Spanish)
• Lab Tests Online in Spanish
• MedlinePlus in Spanish
• The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook (Spanish)

Multicultural

• Culture, Language and Health Literacy (HRSA)
• EthnoMED Culture (especially Asian & African counties)
• Consumer Health / Patient Information in Several Languages (Ethnomed)
• National Alliance for Hispanic Health (includes Buena Salud® Club)
• Multicultural Resources for Health Information (NLM)[ Includes info on various cultures]
• Nurse.com Cultural Competency Education
• Culturally Competent Nursing Care (CE from Office of Minority Health)

HEART & LUNG SOUNDS

• Stethographics - Basic heart and lung sounds

INFECTIOUS DISEASE

• Centers for Disease Control
• Infection Prevention and Control at a Glance (2017)
• AVERT (global information and education on HIV and AIDS)

JOURNALS & ARTICLES

• CINAHL - Cumulated Index of Nursing and Allied Health with many full text articles
• CMA Today
• OVID - (full text journals AJN, LPN, Men in Nursing, Nursing, Nursing Education)
• ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
• ProQuest Health and Medical Complete
• ProQuest Healthcare Administration
• ProQuest Psychology Journals
• PubMed
• Surgical Technologist journal (current issue)

MEDICAL IMAGES

• Image Quest (search for healthcare or medical images)
• SkinSight (photos of skin conditions)

MEDICAL INSURANCE & CODING
E-Books / Databases:

• CPT 2021 - Professional Edition
• Conquer Medical Coding 2018 : A Critical Thinking Approach with Coding Simulations
• Medical Coding: ICD-10-PCS (Quick Study cards)
• Medical Coding: ICD-10-CM (Quick Study cards)
• ProQuest Healthcare Administration
• PubMed

Websites:

• AHRQ: Health Information Technology Tools & Resources
• American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC)
• Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Code Sets
• Evaluation & Management Services Guide (CMS, 2017, PDF)
• HealthIT (Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology)
• ICD-10 Overview from CMS
• Medicare Learning Network - Web Based Training & CEUs (requires free registration)

MEDICAL LAW AND ETHICS
 E-Books / Databases:

• Penn Center Guide to Bioethics (Credo)
• Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
  Includes West's Encyclopedia of Law and Ethics e-books
• Westlaw Next *Cases
• LexisNexis Academic *Legal Tab
• ProQuest Healthcare Administration

 Websites:

• Bioethics.net
• Findlaw
• Hastings Center (bioethics research institute) 
• State Laws on Cardiac Arrest & Defibrillators (National Conference of State Legislatures, 2017)
• New Jersey Administrative Code and the New Jersey Register
• Penn Bioethics Journal - PBJ (undergraduate journal) 

MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY

• American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine (Credo Reference, 2015)
• Barron's Dictionary of Medical Terms (Credo Reference, 2013)
• Medical Terminology Systems: A Body Systems Approach - 8th ed. (STAT!Ref, 2017) [try Appendix C]
• Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary (Credo Reference, 2016)
• Programmed Learning Approach to Medical Terminology 3rd ed., 2019 (R2 Digital Library)

NURSING
 E-Books / Databases:

• CINAHL with full text - Cumulated Index of Nursing and Allied Health 
  To find CE articles, click on Publication type: CEU
• Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL (contains the Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health)
• Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, 11th ed. (2019)
• Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests  
• Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures
• OVID E-Journals (find CE articles in AJN & RN from this web site)
• Portable LPN: the All-in-one Reference for Practical Nurses
• ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
• PubMed

  Websites, including ones with CE articles:

• American Nurses Association (ANA) - NursingWorld.com
• Medscape Nurses [must register for free articles]
• NLN: National League for Nursing
• NursingCenter from Lippincott [must register for free materials] 
• Substance Use Disorder in Nurses

PATIENT EDUCATION

• AAFP Conditions, A to Z
• Guide to Patient and Family Engagement in Hospital Quality and Safety (AHRQ)

PHARMACOLOGY
 E-Books / Databases:

• Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses - 2023 (18th ed., from STAT!Ref/TDS Health)

 Websites:

• DailyMed (includes tabs for indications, usage, contraindications, adverse reactions, dosage, patient counseling, etc. from FDA package inserts- Search by generic or brand name)
• RxList (from WebMD. Note - there are a lot of ads intermingled with drug descriptions)
• FDA Drug Index (from the Food and Drug Administration - includes approval history, medication guide, therapeutic equivalents)
• Institute for Safe Medication Practices (includes medication safety alerts, high alert medication lists, Do Not Use abbreviations list]
• MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs & Supplements (these patient handouts include both prescription and over the counter drugs)
• NLM Drug Portal (includes Drug Category descriptions & lists)
• PDR.net (registration required for full monograph, but most information available without it. Has prescription and some OTC drugs)

PHARMACOLOGY - PATIENT INFORMATION
 Websites:

• Drug Encyclopedia (from Kaiser Permanente)
• Drugdigest (has tool to create medication card for patients; includes patient info, interactions, drug status and class)
• FDA Information for Consumers
• MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs & Supplements these patient handouts include both prescription and over the counter drugs
• New Jersey Prescription Drug Price Registry

PHLEBOTOMY

• Lab Tests Online - descriptions of blood tests and other lab tests from laboratory professionals, in many languages
• Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests - an ebook of most blood & lab tests and how samples are handled

PSYCHOLOGY

 E-Books / Databases:

• Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL (contains the Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health)
• Kaplan & Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry (STAT!Ref)
• ProQuest Family Health
• ProQuest Health and Medical Complete
• ProQuest Psychology Journals
• Ebook Central (ProQuest)

 Websites:

• National Alliance on Mental Illness
• National Institute of Mental Health, NIMH (click on “Health & Education" to get Mental Health topics)

STATISTICAL DATA

• CDC Data and Statistics [Disease/ Geographic Data]
• Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care [Medicare/ Hospital Data]
• Heart Disease & Stroke Statistics (2018)
• National Cancer Institute
• Healthcare Reform, ACA & Coverage Statistics

SUBSTANCE ABUSE

• National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information, SAMHSA
• National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
• National Institute on Drug Abuse
• AA Twelve Traditions
• Go Ask Alice

SURGICAL PROCESSING TECHNICIANS
  E-Books:

• Differentiating Surgical Instruments (2nd ed.)
• Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL (contains the Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests)

  Websites:

• IAHSCMM
• Infection Control Today magazine
• Joint Commission

SURGICAL TECHNOLOGISTS
 E-Books / Databases:

• Differentiating Surgical Instruments (2nd ed.)
• Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL (contains Encyclopedias of Surgery and Medical Tests)
• Pocket Guide to the Operating Room
• Surgical Mayo Setups (2nd ed.) 
• ProQuest Health and Medical Collection

  Websites:

• 2019 CST Examination References (from NBSTSA.org)
• AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice
• AST Position Statements and Guidelines
• Certified Surgical Technologist Exam - 2019 Content Outline
• NBSTSA (National Board of Surgical Technology & Surgical Assisting)
• OR Today
• OSHA Hospital e-tool: surgical suite
• Surgical Technologist journal (current issue)

SURGICAL VIDEOS

• OR Live Videos
• Spine Universe Surgical Videos
• WebSurg.com (videos of minimally-invasive surgery -free, but must register)

USER GUIDES

• APA Citation Style Workshop
• Guidelines for writing a case study
• Finding Good Health Information on the Web (M.L.A.)
• Evaluating Health Information from Medline Plus