Medical Coding & Billing

Information for CBCS certification

Coders with sufficient experience and expertise in family practice coding are encouraged to sit for the CFPC™ exam.

"The inpatient medical coding credential, Certified Inpatient Coder (CIC), is the only certification exclusively specialized in hospital and facility inpatient coding."

"This voluntary credential formally recognizes a medical biller’s competency and proficiency encourages continued professional and personal best development, and provides a national standard assessment based on industry knowledge."

COC credentials enable career in many outpatient settings

The Certified Professional Biller (CPB™) credential prepares medical billers with skills to maintain all aspects of the revenue cycle.

The Certified Professional Coder (CPC) exam is the conclusive step to attaining CPC certification—renowned throughout the world of healthcare as the gold standard for physician-based medical coding.

"Certified Risk Adjustment Coders (CRCs) play a critical role in establishing accurate risk scores for patients, which promotes optimal patient care and ethical payer reimbursement for providers and health plans."

"Specialty coding certifications represent mastery of the coding/billing skills "

AAPC Medical Coding and Billing Salary Survey provides an overview of compensation and salary trends within the industry

Covers the basics of medical coding and billing, including what they are, how they work, and why they're so important in the healthcare field.

Search this Labor Department's annual publication for job descriptions, skills requirements & and salary information for many careers.

The national public health agency, under the Department of Health and Human Services, with headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, CMS, is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Health Insurance Marketplace® is part of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Links to many HIPAA regulations

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) is a federal law that required the creation of national standards to protect sensitive patient health information from being disclosed without the patient’s consent or knowledge.

The Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services (CMCS) is one of six Centers within the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

The Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) is an independent congressional agency established by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (P.L. 105-33) to advise the U.S. Congress on issues affecting the Medicare program.

The NPI Registry Public Search is a free directory of all active National Provider Identifier (NPI) records.

"To help healthcare providers such as hospitals and physicians comply with relevant Federal health care laws and regulations, OIG creates compliance resources, which are often tailored to particular providers."

An official website of the Defense Health Agency (DHA), a component of the Military Health System

The U.S. government agency that provides data on labor economics and statistics and serves as a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System

In 1985, the United States government passed the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act or COBRA, for short. Workers use COBRA after voluntary or involuntary termination.

Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups (MS-DRGs)

Subscription product (online encoder) for finding ICD-10-CM Codes - CPT Codes - HCPCS Codes - ICD-10-PCS Codes

Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups (MS-DRGs)

ICD10Data.com is a free reference website designed for the fast lookup of all current American ICD-10-CM (diagnosis) and ICD-10-PCS (procedure) medical billing codes

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) provides expertise, data, and analysis for insurance commissioners to effectively regulate the industry and protect consumers.

"The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) exists to improve the quality of health care."

The National Uniform Billing Committee (NUBC) was formed in 1975 to develop and maintain a single billing form and standard data set to be used nationwide by institutional, private and public providers and payers for handling health care claims.

Directory of health plans, practices and other health care organizations.

"Blue Cross Blue Shield offers a personalized approach to healthcare based on the needs of the communities where their members live and work."

HCCA provides educational opportunities, certification, resources, and industry connections.

Since 1960, a trusted "source of unique, data-driven insights on insurance to inform and empower consumers."

"The mission of The Joint Commission is to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value."

"The National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) is a Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) program designed to prevent improper payment of procedures that should not be submitted together."

Workers’ Comp News. Laws. Statutes. Forms Management. Blogs. Forums. Compliance.

"WorldVista's mission is to improve healthcare worldwide by making medical information technology better and universally affordable."