Electronic Resource Highlight: Flipster - Digital Magazines
One of the library's newest resources, Flipster is a digital magazine platform providing access to 18 different titles online or through the Flipster app. Browse or search through full text and full color copies of design, business, science and fashion magazines from anywhere. Unlike databases that collect only the text of articles, Flipster allows you access to all the images and advertisements included in the original issue of each magazine. Browse new and back issues, or search within one or multiple issues at once.
Click on the image for access:
Books. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest. Encylcopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
The Library Catalog includes the collections of all Berkeley College libraries. There are more than 86,000 titles. Use it to find books, DVDs and audio books.
This step-by-step tutorial shows how to navigate to the library catalog and perform a search.
Use the physical collection in your class!
A Spring 2018 JUS 2210 required the book, Buddy Boys for a term assignment the library purchased three copies to support the class. One copy was kept on reserve in the library and two were circulated among students.
The library provides access to multiple e-book collections. eBooks can supplement course textbooks, support specific assignments, and be used as optional additional resources to add value to your class. Multiple students can access the same eBook simultaneously and remotely.
Amazon Kindle Fire tablet e-book leaning against a pile of hardcover books. Photo. Britannica ImageQuest. Encyclopedia Britannica. 25 May 2016/
This tutorial from ProQuest will show you how to navigate eBook Central.
There are over 100 multipurpose and discipline specific databases providing access to full text articles, research, reports, reference, and scholarly publications.
This step-by-step tutorial shows how to navigate to a library database and perform a search.
Streaming media collections support course content across the curriculum.
The streaming media collection provides instant access and simultaneous viewing of educational programming. All you need is a high-speed Internet connection and a computer or mobile device that meets the minimum technical requirements.
Play icon. Clip Art. Britannica ImageQuest. Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Titles from these collections can be shown in the classroom, embedded within a Canvas course, viewed at home or on the go.
There is a wide range of topics covered, including curriculum-related content such as Business, Economics, Criminal Justice, and Law collections and new and popular documentaries.
The library purchased streaming rights to Discovering Fashion - Stella McCartney in support of the FALL2021 Fashion Forecasting class.
Librarians have created over 150 guides for courses, assignments, and events.
A course or assignment themed LibGuide is the perfect tool to help students locate and use a variety of library resources.
A LibGuide can:
Librarians create custom assignment guides by faculty request. These guides help students understand the assignment, access the appropriate resources, and use effective research strategies.
To request a LibGuide, contact a subject specialist for your campus.
The library maintains over 400 FAQs for students, associates, and faculty. FAQs cover topics such as Database Searching, Computers & Technology, Citation Help, and Faculty-specific questions. They are continually updated, and anyone can request a new FAQ.
For English classes which assign students to research both sides of a specific issue, we have a selection of FAQs which help students to complete the assignment. We can make widgets like these for other assignments and topics, and these can be embedded into Canvas or a Libguide to support your course.