Click on the campus name to see what's happening onsite for
each location!
Berkeley College Counseling:
https://berkeleycollege.edu/student-life/campus-life/health-counseling-wellness/index.html
Berkeley College Accessibility Services:
https://berkeleycollege.edu/admissions/accessibility-services/index.html
Berkeley College Title IX:
https://berkeleycollege.edu/about/administration/general-counsel/title-ix/index.html
Academic Recognition Ceremony
Join the Berkeley College community in celebrating our Dean’s & President’s List recipients for the
Fall 2023 semester.
Student Development and Campus Life (SDCL) is excited to host the on-site Fall 2023 President's and Dean's List Academic Recognition Ceremony. Below is the information for the Online, New York City, Newark, Woodbridge, and Woodland Park campus ceremonies.
For any additional questions, contact: SDCL@BerkeleyCollege.edu.
Eligible students will be notified via email that they have achieved either Dean's or President's List status. All recipients will be recognized with a personalized President's or Dean's List Certificate in a virtual recognition ceremony once eligibility is confirmed each semester.
Dean's List:
Full-time matriculated students who achieve a grade point average of 3.50 or better with a minimum of 12 academic credits (excludes credits for College Skills courses) qualify for the Dean's List. Part- time matriculated students who complete a minimum of 6 to 11 academic credits per term in 2 or more consecutive terms and achieve a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 qualify for the Dean's List.
President's List:
Full-time matriculated students who achieve a grade point average of 4.00 with a minimum of 12 academic credits (excludes credits for College Skills courses) qualify for the President's List. Part- time matriculated students who complete a minimum of 6 to 11 academic credits per term in 2 or more consecutive terms and achieve a cumulative grade point average of 4.00 qualify for the President's List.
The pre-recorded ceremony contains an individual certificate slide for every student who earned a place on the President's List or the Dean's List for the Fall 2023 term.
We encourage you to pause the ceremony on your certificate and take a screenshot of it to share on social media or print as a keepsake.
Congratulations to the Berkeley College
Fall 2023 Semester
President's & Dean's List Recipients
President's List Academic Recognition Ceremony
Woodland Park: 3:40
Woodbridge: 6:16
Newark: 6:54
New York City: 7:15
Online: 12:09
Dean's List Academic Recognition Ceremony
Woodland Park: 3:01
Woodbridge: 11:08
Newark: 12:18
New York City: 13:08
Online: 20:58
The Berkeley HelpDesk is available 24/7 to assist you with tech support.
You can reach them in one of 3 ways:
Berkeley Knight Chatbot
Berkeley College has launched the Berkeley Knight Bot, an artificially intelligent chatbot. Our Berkeley Knight Bot is the state-of-the- art artificial intelligence technology specifically tailored to meet the needs and questions of our students 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
To access the chatbot, you must log in to your Engage Portal at https://engage.berkeleycollege.edu/ and click on the Berkeley Knight Chatbot icon.
Select the chatbot that fits your needs - IS Helpdesk, Career Services, or Financial Aid.
You can also click this link to access the Berkeley Knight Chatbot - https://content.berkeleycollege.edu/ivy/index.html.
DUO Multi-factor authentication (MFA)
Multi-factor authentication is the practice of using multiple forms, or factors of proof to authorize access to your account. Berkeley College accounts will now require the following factors to authenticate:
The combination of these factors will provide enhanced security for your account by requiring a combination of both factors for access.
Device Requirements:
If you are unable to complete the DUO enrollment by September 1st, please reach out to the Berkeley College Helpdesk at 973-653-2180 or email HelpDesk@berkeleycollege.edu as soon as possible to discuss your options.
CLICK HERE to download the DUO Enrollment Guide for Students!
You will need to request a Digital Berkeley College Student ID card and/or a student parking permit. (Please note that student parking permits are only available for students enrolled in classes on the Woodbridge and Woodland Park campuses).
Berkeley College has transitioned fully to digital Berkeley College IDs – now you can easily access your Berkeley College ID card anytime and anywhere through the ID card tile in Engage and the Berkeley App!
Please click HERE for the instructions and for information on how to upload a photo and, once your digital ID is ready, how to access and display your digital Berkeley College ID.
To request a parking pass for the Woodbridge or Woodland Park campuses, please visit the Student Development and Campus Life office to fill out a parking permit request form.
For New York City and Newark campuses, there are independent parking garages near each campus. Parking for these two campuses is the responsibility of the student, faculty, or staff member.
Parking Permits are needed at the Woodland Park and Woodbridge campuses.
Please contact James Marshmon, the SDCL Director of those campuses, to obtain a parking permit (email: james-marshmon2@berkeleycollege.edu).
If you are a student at the Newark Campus, please see Security to purchase a discounted daily parking pass for the Atlantic Street IDT parking garage.
If you have questions, please contact Student Development and Campus Life at SDCL@BerkeleyCollege.edu.
Accessing your Berkeley College Student Email Account
Your Berkeley email is one of the main sources of correspondence from the College.
Every student is assigned a Berkeley student email address. Many important announcements, updates, and general information related to your financial aid, classes, and more, will be sent only to your Berkeley College email address.
Your Berkeley College email can be accessed from the Engage Portal.
Click on the small outline of a person in the top right-hand corner and login. Once you are logged in, you will see a tile for Email (circled in red below).
Click on the Email tile and it will open your email in Outlook online in a new window.
Berkeley College uses MS Office 365 as platform with Outlook for the email service. You can also access your email from https://berkeleycollege365.sharepoint.com/
You will be prompted for a user name. The user name consists of First Name-Last Name, with a maximum of eight letters in each name, followed by @mymail.berkeleycollege.edu for students.
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) is a federal law governing how many student academic, disciplinary, and immunization records, among others ("Education Records"), and information derived from them are managed. Generally, FERPA prohibits educational institutions from disclosing private student information (such as grades and social security numbers) without prior consent from the student. It also gives students the right to review many Education Records and correct errors.
FERPA permits institutions to disclose some Education Records under specific conditions. For example, certain student information may be disclosed in emergencies involving threats to the health or safety of the student or the College community or when a student is injured or missing for a defined period of time without explanation (all students are required to furnish emergency contact information for this purpose). Institutions are also permitted to designate less private categories of "Directory Information" that may be disclosed without a student’s consent unless the student has specifically instructed the Office of the Registrar, in writing, not to share such information. At Berkeley, Directory Information includes a student’s name, address, telephone number, date and place of birth, major field of study, participation in officially recognized activities and sports, dates of attendance, degrees and awards received, most recent previous school attended, and likeness (photograph, video, or other forms).
Read the complete Student Records and Information Policy
Visit the Institutional Compliance webpage to complete and submit a FERPA waiver or a FERPA opt-out form online (you will find these forms toward the bottom of the webpage linked above).
Quick Contacts for Students
Academic Advisement: 973-200-1066
Career Services: 973-200-1191
Financial Aid: 973-200-1148
FAFSA Help Desk: 833-613-1364
Information Systems Help Desk: 973-278-5400, ext. 1540
Student Accounts: 973-200-1150
Student Development and Campus Life: 973-546-2925
Campus Operating Officers oversee day-to-day operations, finances, student and staff retention, space management, and community outreach.
Newark Campus
New York City Campus
Online Campus
Woodland Park Campus
Woodbridge Campus
The Center for Academic Success (CAS) is an excellent resource for a wide range of academic support services. Centers are located at all Berkeley campuses in New York and New Jersey, including online. Trained staff, including both peer and professional tutors, are available days, evenings, and weekends to support you in all academic courses and with general study skills.
Tutoring
Participate in group or one-on-one tutoring in any subject (including accounting, math, computer literacy, and writing). You can also sharpen your presentation skills and boost your confidence with the Speakeasy program.
Unable to make it to a tutoring session? No problem! Tutoring is also accessible virtually on an online platform where you will be able to interact with a tutor from any computer with a camera and microphone.
Center for Academic Success Tutoring
Berkeley students can receive free tutoring either on-site at a Berkeley campus or online (CASTAnywhere). Tutoring is available for course content as well as writing, study skills, or computer skills. Students have access to both peer and professional tutors, who are available during the day, evenings, and weekends. Tutoring sessions are 45 minutes and may either be one-on-one or in a small group. Students can view availability and make appointments by following these steps:
WriteAid
Looking for feedback on your essay or paper? Submit your paper electronically to the WriteAid Inbox and receive feedback (via email) on your writing assignment in a timely manner. WriteAid helps you improve your drafts and grow your skills for the future by providing you with feedback on the development and structure of your paper as well as comment on syntax and mechanics.
Learning Strategies – Schedule Individual Study Plan Sessions
CAS professional staff can coach you through creating a personalized study plan for more effective learning, whether you are taking on-site or online courses. Not only will we assist you in creating your individualized study plan but we will also meet with you on a consistent basis to support you in its implementation.
Individual study plan sessions often include learning strategies and techniques to help you with:
Berkeley College Library
All Berkeley College students are automatically registered for the library services.
Your student ID number is your library ID number, and your library PIN number consists of the last four digits of your ID.
All currently enrolled students, full and part time employees of the College, active or emeritus Board members, Alumni, and registered members of a VALENJ Reciprocal Borrowing Library are permitted to register as borrowers. Berkeley College-issued digital ID cards are required for students and employees; all other borrowers must present an official identification card.
You can find more information on the Borrowing/Renew/Request section of the library website.
Library cards are used to check out books, audio books, and DVDs.
Berkeley College Database
The Berkeley College library provides access to over 100 databases for a variety of areas and majors. Databases can be found on the library page by subject, database type, or by the vendors/providers.
A library database is a searchable electronic index of published, reliable resources. Databases provide access to a wealth of useful research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Some databases also include e-books, relevant Web resources, and various multimedia.
The information found in databases is either originally created or comes from different, reliable sources.
NOTE: Databases are not “Internet" sources. One must login with their Canvas username & password to use databases.
Click Here to access the Berkeley College Libary Database.
Berkeley College students, faculty, and staff have free access to MS (Microsoft) Office. MS Office downloads are available for both Windows and Mac computers, and mobile devices. You can install Office on up to 5 PCs or Macs, 5 tablets, and 5 smartphones.
Installing Office365 from your Email, follow these steps:
Click Here for instructions on how to install Microsoft Office from your Berkeley College Email
What Are Pronouns? Pronouns are the words you may like others to use for you in place of your proper name. Some examples include “she/her” or “he/him” or gender-neutral pronouns, such as “ze/hir,” [pronounced: zee/heer] or “they/them”. Some people use specific pronouns, any pronouns, or none at all. Here is an example of using “they/them” in a sentence: John is substituting for me today and they are an incredible mathematician. Using singular “they” pronouns have been used in the English language for centuries. If you are still struggling with using this, remember, it takes practice!
Why Focus on Pronouns? You may have noticed that people are sharing their pronouns in introductions, on name tags, and at the beginning of meetings. This gives everyone in the room the opportunity to self identify instead of assuming someone’s identity or which pronouns they use. Including pronouns is a first step toward respecting people’s identity and creating a more welcoming space for people of all genders.
Want to learn more about Pronouns? Click Here to visit the GLSEN website!
A preferred or chosen name is a name you commonly use that is different from your legal name – it is about what you want to be called.
While we use the phrase “preferred name,” for many people, this is not just a preference; it is the only name they use and is essential to their identity.
How to Add your Preferred Name and Pronouns to your Canvas Profile:
After changing your display name in Canvas, people will see your updated preferred name in discussions, messages and comments (it will not change your legal name in the grade book).
Once you add your pronouns in Canvas, they will appear after your name when enabled.
How to change your Berkeley College Email Display Name
To update your Berkeley College Email Display Name to your preferred name, simply fill out the “E-mail Display Name Change Form” by clicking HERE or following the steps below.
To access the eForm:
Please note that this will not change your Berkeley College email address, only your display name, as it appears connected to your email address. This is not an official name change.
In order to change your name on all official College documents, please provide the necessary legal name change documentation to the Office of the Registrar.
How to change your Berkeley College Email Display Name
To update your Berkeley College Email Display Name to your preferred name, simply fill out the “E-mail Display Name Change Form” by clicking HERE or following the steps below.
To access the eForm:
Please note that this will not change your Berkeley College email address, only your display name, as it appears connected to your email address. This is not an official name change.
In order to change your name on all official College documents, please provide the necessary legal name change documentation to the Office of the Registrar.
Career Development Course
Sign up for a Career Development Course. This course introduces participants to the work of law enforcement in order to broaden their perspectives and understanding of the criminal justice system and to better prepare them to become viable candidates in the field.
Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP) program
As a student at Berkeley College, your household may be eligible to receive up to $30 a month discount on Internet Service through the Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP) program. The Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP) provides a discount of up to $30 per month towards internet service for eligible households and up to $75 per month for those on qualifying Tribal lands. Eligible households can also receive a one-time discount of up to $100 to purchase a laptop, desktop, or tablet from participating internet companies if they contribute more than $10 and less than $50 toward the purchase price. Follow the steps below to qualify:
Starting a New Student Organization
If there is an interest in creating a student club that does not currently exist, a group of students may apply by contacting the Director of Student Development and Campus Life at their home campus.
Privileges & Benefits for Student Clubs
Contact Student Development and Campus Life at SDCL@Berkeleycollege.edu for more information.
Please complete the form below for more information about clubs and how to join club meetings.
Berkeley College values its students and is committed to providing resources and support for the “whole student.” Our counseling services exist to collaborate with faculty and staff to maintain student wellness and facilitate student success. We approach each individual holistically, helping each student achieve a healthy balance in his or her many life roles and assisting in the successful transition into college and through graduation. CLICK HERE for additional information!
Supportive counseling services are available to help students:
At no additional cost, students can meet with trained counselors in a safe and confidential environment.
Find the contact information for personal counselors here.
Berkeley College’s staff makes great efforts to accommodate the needs of our students who have disabilities. Each campus has an ADA Coordinator or a personal counselor who serves as the accessibility support service representative. The student must schedule an appointment with this person, submit an application, and provide supporting documentation to receive accommodations. Accessibility Services-related documentation will not be part of your Berkeley College academic record.
The student with a disability is required to provide medical and/or psychological documentation supporting the claim of disability from a licensed professional. The claim of disability used is the label put forth in the federal legislation of the Amendments Act of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 2008. The disability must substantially limit the person from completing a major life activity. The medical and psychological documentation (e.g., reports, clinical notes, evaluations, etc.) must be no older than four years. In addition, the medical and psychological documentation must include the following:
In addition to the student with a disability providing the required medical and/or psychological documentation of the disability, the student must include a current Berkeley College Application for Accessibility Services and Accommodations in his or her initial packet for services.
Katherine Wu
Director of Accessibility Services
3 East 43rd Street
New York, NY 10017
646-502-8237
Katherine-Wu@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Vincent Mas
Coordinator of Accessibility Services
3 East 43rd Street
New York, NY 10017
914-377-5545
Vincent-Mas@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Accessibility Services Website:
New York City
Vincent Mas, Coordinator of Accessibility Services
914-377-5545
Vincent-Mas@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Newark
Danielle Hewitt, Personal Counselor
973-278-5400 ext. 6183
Danielle-Hewitt@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Online
Sandra Coppola, Senior Director of Personal Counseling
973-826-5598
Sandra-Coppola@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Santa Rock, Personal Counselor
973-405-2111 ext. 6402
SGR@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Woodbridge
Danielle Hewitt, Personal Counselor
973-278-5400 ext. 6183
Danielle-Hewitt@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Woodland Park
Sandra Coppola, Senior Director of Personal Counseling
973-826-5598
Sandra-Coppola@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Sheri Burkat, Personal Counselor
973-278-5400 ext. 1321
Sheri-Burkat@BerkeleyCollege.edu
2024 AIDS Walk NY
Registration is now open for the 2024 AIDS Walk NY event on Sunday, May 19, 2024.
All are welcome to join The Berkeley College Team and walk with us! (Students, Faculty, Alumni, Staff, and Friends!)
Registration Link: https://gmhc.aidswalkny.org/team/570265
Student Development & Campus Life invites students to participate in a community service opportunity on Friday, June 14, 2024, from 9:00 am – 1:00 pm.
We will support the Community Food Bank of New Jersey by preparing food to distribute to partner agencies and community members. You must be able to volunteer for the entire shift with the Community Food Bank of New Jersey.
If you are interested, please sign up on the form below. Spots are limited and on a first-come, first-serve basis. However, you will be notified if a spot is available. Please note you must provide your own transportation.
Volunteer Form: https://forms.office.com/r/Mxdn5iwn20
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact Student Development and Campus Life at SDCL@BerkeleyCollege.edu.
Contact Student Development and Campus Life to...
Phone: 973-546-2925
E-mail:SDCL@BerkeleyCollege.edu
Berkeley College values its students and is committed to providing resources and support for the “whole student.” Our counseling services exist to collaborate with faculty and staff to maintain student wellness and facilitate student success. We approach each individual holistically, helping each student achieve a healthy balance in his or her many life roles and assisting in the successful transition into college and through graduation. Counseling services are offered at all on-site and online locations. Call or stop by to schedule an appointment.
Click here to contact a Personal Counselor and learn more about counseling services
CLICK ON THE ICON FOR YOUR STATE
FOR DETAILS ON HOW TO VOTE!
Register to vote and then, VOTE!
Don't know where to vote? Click the image below to find locations near you!
Click Here for Voter Registration Deadlines
If you ever think that just one vote in a sea of millions cannot make much of a difference, consider some of the closest elections in U.S. history.
In 2000, Al Gore narrowly lost the Electoral College vote to George W. Bush. The election came down to a recount in Florida, where Bush had won the popular vote by such a small margin that it triggered an automatic recount and a Supreme Court case (Bush v. Gore).
In the end, Bush won Florida by 0.009 percent of the votes cast in the state, or 537 votes.
Had 600 more pro-Gore voters gone to the polls in Florida that November, there may have been an entirely different president from 2000–2008.
More recently, Donald Trump defeated Hillary Clinton in 2016 by securing a close Electoral College win. Although the election did not come down to a handful of votes in one state, Trump’s votes in the Electoral College decided a tight race. Clinton had won the national popular vote by nearly three million votes, but the concentration of Trump voters in key districts in “swing” states like Wisconsin, Pennsylvania, and Michigan helped
seal enough electoral votes to win the presidency.
Your vote may not directly elect the president, but if your vote joins enough others in your voting district or county, your vote undoubtedly matters when it comes to electoral results. Most states have a “winner take all” system where the popular vote winner gets the state’s electoral votes. There are also local and state elections to consider. While presidential or other national elections usually get a significant voter turnout,
local elections are typically decided by a much smaller group of voters.
A Portland State University study found that fewer than 15 percent of eligible voters were turning out to vote for mayors, council members, and other local offices. Low turnout means that important local issues are determined by a limited group of voters,
making a single vote even more statistically meaningful.
Retrieved from National Geographic Resource Library : https://www.nationalgeographic.org/article/why-voting-important/
Below is information on how to register to vote for the upcoming elections in New Jersey, New York, and other states this November. These links can also be found in the “Vote!” tab on the Virtual Student Center libguide located here: https://berkeleycollege.libguides.com/c.php?g=681697&p=7892209
New Jersey
Voter registration forms and information are located here: https://www.nj.gov/state/elections/vote.shtml
Please check the NJ Division of Elections website for updates on election dates and voter registration deadlines.
New York
Voter registration forms and information are located here: https://www.ny.gov/services/register-vote
Please check the NYS Board of Elections website for updates on election dates and voter registration deadlines.
New York City
Voter registration forms and information are located here: New York City: https://vote.nyc/
Please check the website for the Board of Elections in the City of New York for updates on election dates and voter registration deadlines.
Other States
If you are a legal resident of another state, please visit the National Elections Assistance Commission to locate your state's voter registration form: https://vote.gov/
Dr. Sherrille Shabazz - Vice President, Student Development & Campus Life
Heather Eaton-Dwyer - Dean of Students, Student Development & Campus Life
Sandra Coppola - Senior Director, Personal Counseling
Katherine Wu - Accessibility Services
Vincent Mas - Coordinator of Accessibility Services
Suzeana Stewart - Director, Student Development & Campus Life
Shaday Rosario- Program Coordinator, Student Development & Campus Life
Christine Kedl - Personal Counselor
Suzeana Stewart - Director, Student Development & Campus Life
Shaday Rosario- Program Coordinator, Student Development & Campus Life
Timothy Cecere - Personal Counselor / ADA Coordinator
Heather Eaton-Dwyer - Dean of Students, Student Development & Campus Life
Santa Rock - Personal Counselor / ADA Coordinator
James Marshmon - Director, Student Development & Campus Life
Christine Kedl - Personal Counselor
James Marshmon - Director, Student Development & Campus Life
Sheri Burkat - Personal Counselor
Do you have relatives, friends, or neighbors who could benefit from a career-focused education at Berkeley College? We’d love to tell them about our exciting new programs, comprehensive support, and how we can help them prepare for a career.
Click Here to refer a friend!
Scan the QR Code with your mobile device to refer a friend!
Clubs and Organizations
Participating in clubs and other extracurricular activities is a great way to meet new people, network, socialize, and complement your coursework. Berkeley College offers students the opportunity to get involved at each campus and across the system. We strongly encourage students to participate in activities, as campus life is an important component of the Berkeley experience. Research has shown that clubs have a positive impact on students’ educational journeys. Through involvement, students gain a strong sense of purpose, community, and achievement.
Starting a New Student Organization
If there is an interest in creating a student club that does not currently exist, a group of students may apply by contacting the Director of Student Development and Campus Life at their home campus.
Suppose you are interested in creating a student club that does not currently exist. In that case, please may contact a member of the Student Development and Campus Life Staff (SDCL Staff Directory) at your home campus.
Privileges & Benefits for Being a Student Club Leader
Recognition by Berkeley College Student Development & Campus Life.
Host virtual/on campus events and sponsor programs and activities.
Participation in “Be Involved Fair and Welcome Week” every semester for new member recruitment.
Participate as an Orientation Leader to guide new students and assist with facilitating New Student Orientation and Welcome Week activities.
Click Here for more information about clubs and interest groups.
Welcome to the Virtual Student Lounge! A space where students can connect, share ideas, and learn about upcoming events.
