There are so many databases and articles. How can I find what I need?
It's an excellent idea to start your research process on our A-Z Databases page. This page is a comprehensive list of every database that you have access to as a Berkeley student. Starting your research here is useful because you can hone it on databases for specific subjects. For example, If you are doing a paper focused on a work of literature, you can go here to locate all of the literature specific databases.
When on the A-Z Databases page, you will see a menu above the list of databases. You can click on a letter to see all databases starting with that letter. This is useful if you already know the name of the database you need. For example, if you know you need to use NexisUni, you can click on "N".
If you don't know the name of the database you need, click on the dropdown that says "All Subjects". Once you do this, you will see this menu:
You can select the appropriate subject for what you are researching to find an appropriate database.
In this class you are most likely to need databases to help you with literary analysis papers, or for position papers and persuasive essays. The boxes below show the best databases to use to search for those types of articles.
Where do I find analytical or critical sources on a work of literature?
Critical sources are a useful resource when writing about a work of literature. Critical and analytical sources respond to a work of literature by adding interpretation and critique, giving readers access to a new perspective on the piece. Berkeley has several databases that provide critical and analytical scholarly sources.
Where do I find sources for my persuasive paper?
When writing a persuasive paper, it is important to locate databases that can provide useful information on the various positions surrounding your topic. The databases below are great places to look for articles explaining controversial issues, and giving the opinions of different authors about the topic.