LibGuides v.2: Fashion Resources: Fast Fashion & Sustainability

Databases of Interest

GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
ProQuest Central
Search and access every full-text resource available through ProQuest’s entire collection of databases, including over 175 different subjects.

Reports

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Guide To Sustainable Strategies (PDF)
Seeks to provide a “how to” overview for sustainable fashion. The guide’s goal is to take the complex idea of sustainability and simplify it into clear, digestible resources and actions, available to all. Authored by Domenica Leibowitz,
The State of Fashion 2024 | McKinsey BoF Report (PDF)
Looking to 2024, fashion leaders are anticipating further headwinds and are uncertain about prospects for the year ahead.

Books of Interest

Better Things by Daniel Liden
ISBN: 9781529419696

Publication Date: 2024-02-29

'Better Things is an indispensable source for any CMF designer. Its clear structure, insightful guidance around material choices, and beautiful visual design make it an essential resource for incorporating sustainable materials into stunning design solutions. Highly recommended!' - Sylvia Feichtinger, Design Director, Material Innovation, Lego 'Better Things is a brilliant, timely resource for designers and a design sector facing a period of vital transition from 20th to 21st century design practice.' - Hugo Jamson, Business Innovation, Design Council How often have you seen a label on a product proclaiming it to be made from 'recycled material', 'bioplastic' or similar, without it giving any details of the concrete environmental benefits? What do these terms really mean? A drive for greater transparency and demonstrable environmental benefits is happening in product design, through emerging legislation and standards, and consumer demand for more sustainable products and unambiguous marketing. In Better Things: Materials for Sustainable Product Design, Daniel Liden seeks to tackle the lazy 'greenwashing' terminology we see every day, providing a guide for product designers, manufacturers and consumers wishing to make better and more informed decisions about materials. The book comprises six chapters devoted to material categories - plastics, textiles, metals, ceramics and glass, wood and paper - and a seventh chapter covering emerging sustainable technologies. Each chapter includes interviews with industry experts, as well as photos, diagrams, environmental impact data, general material properties.
Sustainable Wardrobe by Sophie Benson
ISBN: 9780711262379

Publication Date: 2023-09-12

Sustainable Wardrobe gives you everything you need to cultivate a more sustainable, ethical and planet-friendly wardrobe that is still easy, accessible and affordable!
Sustainable Fashion for Dummies by Paula N. Mugabi
ISBN: 9781119986225

Publication Date: 2023-04-25

Ditch fast fashion and create a more sustainable wardrobe Want to learn how to make more ethical fashion choices? Sustainable Fashion For Dummies will teach you how to pick up new habits that align with a more sustainable future. The rise of fast fashion in recent years has contributed to unsafe work environments, unfair wages, and toxic pollution. With sustainable fashion, you can have groovy clothing and accessories that are produced in an ecologically and socially responsible manner, using quality products and long-lasting materials. You don't have to sacrifice your natural fashion sense--the sustainable fashion movement is responsible for some of the most exciting new trends. Pick up this easy-to-read handbook for practical tips and strategies on making more environmentally friendly fashion choices. Get started on your sustainable fashion journey Discover inexpensive options for making more eco-friendly fashion choices Make the most of what's already in your closet Master the art of thrift shopping Let this Dummies guide be your guru as you start making socially and environmentally friendly fashion choices and becoming more thoughtful about what you purchase (or don't purchase).
How Fast Fashion Changed the World
ISBN: 9781668941768

The fast fashion industry has profoundly impacted our world. The Planet Human series breaks down the human impact on the environment over time and around the globe. Each title presents important high-interest natural science nonfiction content with global relevance.
Accelerating Sustainability in Fashion, Clothing and Textiles by Martin Charter (Editor); Bernice Pan (Editor); Sandy Black (Editor)
Call Number: 338.47687 ACC

ISBN: 9781032225173

Publication Date: 2023

The issue of sustainability is characterised as a 'wicked problem' in the fashion, clothing and textiles sector and is now coming into increased focus due to growing consumer, business and policy pressures. This in-depth volume presents a comprehensive overview of the challenges and emerging opportunities faced by the sector, and provides strategic solutions as to how the sector can substantially accelerate sustainability. This book collates research and industry best practice to provide a 'one-stop shop' exploring the complex and interconnected issues surrounding sustainability in fashion, clothing and textiles. The practical and digestible chapters include innovative examples and perspectives from different regions of the globe, addressing topics from policies to supply chain issues and materials innovation. Five unique case studies of sustainable businesses provide detailed examples of pioneering practice. Edited by three professionals with long-standing knowledge and expertise, the book takes a global perspective with examples that illustrate the scale and breadth of topics and regions in the scope of sustainability. This holistic approach brings together both academic and industry perspectives on the critical areas that require immediate action to move towards a more sustainable fashion, clothing and textile sector. This is an invaluable resource for those working in the industry, policymakers and for those in business or academia with an interest in sustainability in fashion, clothing, textiles and related sectors worldwide. It is also relevant to professionals and students in the areas of sustainability, innovation, supply chains, design and development, consultancy, education and training.

Online Resources

Centre for Sustainable Fashion
The Centre for Sustainable Fashion is based at London College of Fashion where they research, educate, and advocate for sustainability in the fashion industry. An educational toolkit, publications, online courses, and information about their current research projects are available online.
Sustainability Resource Hub - Council of Fashion Designers of America
The Sustainability Resource Hub is the centralized home to an A-Z Directory of 400+ stakeholder alliance-led initiatives and a growing library of downloadable resources.
Clean by Design - Natural Resources Defense Council
The program Clean by Design focuses on reducing waste and emissions in apparel manufacturing to improve the environment. Provided are fact sheets about the supply chain, textile selection, and fiber dyeing in the fashion industry.
Fashion for Good
A museum and innovative platform that promotes sustainability in fashion and publishes open-access reports, guides, and circular apparel tools.
Considerate Design
EcoCult
EcoCult is a curious, thoughtful, science-based view into the international sustainable fashion industry.
Eco Fashion Talk
Ethical Clothing
Ethical Clothing was founded with a simple goal, to make ethical decisions easier when it comes to buying clothes and accessories.
Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action (UN Climate Change)
The Fashion Pact
The Fashion Pact is a global coalition of companies in the fashion and textile industry (ready-to-wear, sport, lifestyle and luxury) including their suppliers and distributors, all committed to a common core of key environmental goals in three areas: stopping global warming, restoring biodiversity and protecting the oceans. Launched as a mission given to Kering Chairman and CEO, François-Henri Pinault by French President, Emmanuel Macron, the Fashion Pact was presented to Heads of State at the G7 Summit in Biarritz.
Fashion Revolution
Fashion Revolution was founded in the wake of the Rana Plaza disaster in 2013. Since then, we have grown to become the world’s largest fashion activism movement, mobilising citizens, brands and policymakers through research, education and advocacy.
Inhabitat: Fashion
Permacouture Institute
The Permacouture Institute is an educational non-profit "for regenerative design in fashion and textiles." Visitors to the site can access their blog and read about the Institute's projects including an interesting Fiber and Dye Walk map.
The SPIN OFF
TED: Textiles Environment Design
TED, a project of Chelsea College of Art & Design, London, attempts to "look at the role that the designer can play in creating textiles that have a reduced impact on the environment and to provide a toolbox of designer-centered solutions." Follow the TED blog for conferences, events and articles of interest.
Victoria and Albert Museum, What is Ethical Fashion?
This museum page provides a brief definition of Ethical Fashion along with a list of several key issues. The site also includes links to interviews with several ethical fashion designers as well as a reading list.