Skip to Main Content

HSM 4440: Health Policy and Politics

This guide provides research support for your Health Policy and Politics assignments.

How to Find Your State's Affordable Care Act Website

Use this link to navigate to your State's Affordable Care Act website:

https://www.healthcare.gov/marketplace-in-your-state/

How to Find Your Congressperson's Website

To find U.S Senators from your State:

https://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm

To find Members of the House of Representatives by state:

https://www.house.gov/representatives/find-your-representative 

Finding Courts

Find Newspaper Articles Using Proquest

You can access newspapers through the library's ProQuest database. ProQuest offers access to the full text of over 900 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.

New York Times

We have full text access to all New York Times articles from June 1, 1980 to present.

To browse all available issues:  Scroll down to browse and use the expandable links to choose which issue you would like to browse.

To search for a specific article: Scroll down to the "Search within this publication" section > Enter your search terms > Click "Search"

Wall Street Journal

We have full text access to all Wall Street Journal articles from January 2, 1984 to present.

To browse all available issues:   Scroll down to browse and use the expandable links to choose which issue you would like to browse.

To search for a specific article:  Scroll down to the "Search within this publication" section > Enter your search terms > Click "Search"

All Other Publications

To search for a specific publication:

Click on the Library tab in Blackboard > click the “Research/ Explore” > Select “Databases” > Find and click on the subject category “News/ Newspapers” > Select "Publications" under the "US Newsstream" page header > Enter your search terms in the Publication Search Bar (or use the A-Z feature) > Click "Search"

NOTE: When searching for articles, note the dates of coverage to ensure we offer access to articles for the date you are interested in. If coverage is from January 2005 - Present and you are looking for an article from 2004, we will not have access to that article. 

Search for a Topic or News Story

Click on the Library tab in Blackboard > click the “Research/ Explore” > Select “Databases” > Find and click on the subject category “News/ Newspapers” > Enter your search terms in the Search Bar > Click "Search"

Trump Administration-Healthcare