Below are a few books on prescription drugs that can be borrowed from Berkeley libraries.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
#1 DRUG BOOK for Nursing Students! "This is the perfect drug book for nursing school! All the information on the meds is in-depth and all that you need to know."--Abby W. SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Seventeenth Edition delivers all the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. FREE DIGITAL ACCESS Redeem the access code to unlock your one-year, free subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to more than 1,700 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. Search the complete 5,000-drug database and appendices quickly and efficiently. Build your knowledge with extensively cross-referenced drugs. Keep up to date with FDA drug news. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE ... AT A GLANCE New! The AGS Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults #1 Drug Guide for patient safety Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Special considerations for patient populations. Geri heading identifies special concerns for older adults. OB and Lact headings highlight information for pregnant and breastfeeding patients. Pedi heading identifies concerns for children. Rep heading identifies considerations for patients of reproductive age. IV Administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content In-depth guidance for patient and family teaching FREE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at FADavis.com Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names help you pronounce important terms Two tutorials, each with a self-test Preventing Medication Errors Psychotropic Drugs Easy-to-Use Calculators Body mass index (BMI) Metric conversions IV drip rates Dosage/KG Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive Case Studies - brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of questions Audio podcasts delivering information on... Risk Evaluation Mitigation Systems (REMS) How to use Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses® Detecting and managing ADRs Evidence-based practice and Pharmacotherapeutics Pharmacogenomics Medication errors Special dosing considerations Educating patients about Safe Medication Use Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications ONLINE REVIEWS OF THE 16TH EDITION OF DAVIS'S DRUG GUIDE FOR NURSES Five Stars. "I LOVE that this includes nursing interventions, patient teaching and an online access code. Highly recommend."--E.G. Accurate and up to date. "Top notch for nursing students! Includes many things other drug guides l
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students by
From the most-trusted name in nursing comes the handbook designed to help you understand common drug families and interactions. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 14th Edition provides you with the latest information on more than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs, along with the latest FDA-approved medications. Side-effects are organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, informing you of what signs to watch for during assessments. In addition, drug monographs are arranged alphabetically, and each includes clear dosing, administration, and nursing process information so you are ready for clinicals. In fact, what sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, drug-specific nursing diagnoses, administration of IV drugs, and medication safety - helping you understand how families of drugs work together. More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Black Box Warnings alert you to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Additional online-only drug monographson the companion Evolve website provide information on even more medications. Safety Alert icon denotes the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Bold headings in coverage of IV drug administration highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Logical organization of side effects information shows you what signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, while the full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Cross-references indicate where drug information can be found in the appendixes. NEW! Appendix with new drugs for 2022. NEW! Updated Drug Categories that include the new 2022 drugs. NEW! The most up-to-date information on drug dosages, warnings, and patient information ensures you understand the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions.
2016 Physicians' Desk Reference, 70th Edition by
Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 70 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected. Now in its 70th edition, PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol. Data on clinical trials are also included.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Health Professions by 
Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care by 
Ten Drugs: how plants, powders, and pills have shaped the history of medicine by 
Introduction to Clinical Pharmacology by