The Berkeley HelpDesk is available to assist you with tech support.
You can reach them in one of 3 ways:
Call 973-653-2180, then press 1, or 973-278-5400 ext. 1540
Email: helpdesk@berkeleycollege.edu
Go to the HelpDesk Tile on the Engage portal, then use the Berkeley Knight chatbot to connect with the Helpdesk.
Berkeley Knight Chatbot
Berkeley College has launched the Berkeley Knight Bot, an artificially intelligent chatbot. Our Berkeley Knight Bot is the state-of-the- art artificial intelligence technology specifically tailored to meet the needs and questions of our students.
To access the chatbot, you must log in to your Engage Portal at https://engage.berkeleycollege.edu/ and click on the Berkeley Knight Chatbot icon.
Select the chatbot that fits your needs - IS Helpdesk, Career Services, or Financial Aid.
You can also click this link to access the Berkeley Knight Chatbot - https://content.berkeleycollege.edu/ivy/index.html.
DUO Multi-factor authentication (MFA)
Multi-factor authentication is the practice of using multiple forms, or factors of proof to authorize access to your account. Berkeley College accounts will now require the following factors to authenticate:
The combination of these factors will provide enhanced security for your account by requiring a combination of both factors for access.
Device Requirements:
If you are unable to complete the DUO enrollment , please contact the Berkeley College Helpdesk at 973-653-2180 or email HelpDesk@berkeleycollege.edu as soon as possible to discuss your options.
CLICK HERE to download the DUO Enrollment Guide for Students!
You will need to request a Digital Berkeley College Student ID card and/or a student parking permit. (Please note that student parking permits are only available for students enrolled in classes on the Woodbridge and Woodland Park campuses).
Berkeley College has transitioned fully to digital Berkeley College IDs – now you can easily access your Berkeley College ID card anytime and anywhere through the ID card tile in Engage and the Berkeley App!
Please click HERE for the instructions and for information on how to upload a photo and, once your digital ID is ready, how to access and display your digital Berkeley College ID.
To request a parking pass for the Woodbridge or Woodland Park campuses, please visit the Student Development and Campus Life office to fill out a parking permit request form.
For New York City and Newark campuses, there are independent parking garages near each campus. Parking for these two campuses is the responsibility of the student, faculty, or staff member.
Parking Permits are needed at the Woodland Park and Woodbridge campuses.
Please contact James Marshmon, the SDCL Director of those campuses, to obtain a parking permit (email: james-marshmon2@berkeleycollege.edu).
If you are a student at the Newark Campus, please see Security to purchase a discounted daily parking pass for the Atlantic Street IDT parking garage.
If you have questions, please contact Student Development and Campus Life at SDCL@BerkeleyCollege.edu.
Accessing your Berkeley College Student Email Account
Your Berkeley email is one of the main sources of correspondence from the College.
Every student is assigned a Berkeley student email address. Many important announcements, updates, and general information related to your financial aid, classes, and more, will be sent only to your Berkeley College email address.
Your Berkeley College email can be accessed from the Engage Portal.
Click on the small outline of a person in the top right-hand corner and login. Once you are logged in, you will see a tile for Email (circled in red below).
Click on the Email tile and it will open your email in Outlook online in a new window.
Berkeley College uses MS Office 365 as platform with Outlook for the email service. You can also access your email from https://berkeleycollege365.sharepoint.com/
You will be prompted for a user name. The user name consists of First Name-Last Name, with a maximum of eight letters in each name, followed by @mymail.berkeleycollege.edu for students.
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) is a federal law governing how many student academic, disciplinary, and immunization records, among others ("Education Records"), and information derived from them are managed. Generally, FERPA prohibits educational institutions from disclosing private student information (such as grades and social security numbers) without prior consent from the student. It also gives students the right to review many Education Records and correct errors.
FERPA permits institutions to disclose some Education Records under specific conditions. For example, certain student information may be disclosed in emergencies involving threats to the health or safety of the student or the College community or when a student is injured or missing for a defined period of time without explanation (all students are required to furnish emergency contact information for this purpose). Institutions are also permitted to designate less private categories of "Directory Information" that may be disclosed without a student’s consent unless the student has specifically instructed the Office of the Registrar, in writing, not to share such information. At Berkeley, Directory Information includes a student’s name, address, telephone number, date and place of birth, major field of study, participation in officially recognized activities and sports, dates of attendance, degrees and awards received, most recent previous school attended, and likeness (photograph, video, or other forms).
Read the complete Student Records and Information Policy
Visit the Institutional Compliance webpage to complete and submit a FERPA waiver or a FERPA opt-out form online (you will find these forms toward the bottom of the webpage linked above).
Quick Contacts for Students
Academic Advisement: 973-200-1066
Career Services: 973-200-1191
Financial Aid: 973-200-1148
FAFSA Help Desk: 833-613-1364
Information Systems Help Desk: 973-278-5400, ext. 1540
Student Accounts: 973-200-1150
Student Development and Campus Life: 973-546-2925
Campus Operating Officers oversee day-to-day operations, finances, student and staff retention, space management, and community outreach.
Newark Campus
New York City Campus
Online Campus
Woodland Park Campus
Woodbridge Campus
The Center for Academic Success (CAS) is an excellent resource for a wide range of academic support services. Centers are located at all Berkeley campuses in New York and New Jersey, including online. Trained staff, including both peer and professional tutors, are available days, evenings, and weekends to support you in all academic courses and with general study skills.
Tutoring
Participate in group or one-on-one tutoring in any subject (including accounting, math, computer literacy, and writing). You can also sharpen your presentation skills and boost your confidence with the Speakeasy program.
Unable to make it to a tutoring session? No problem! Tutoring is also accessible virtually on an online platform where you will be able to interact with a tutor from any computer with a camera and microphone.
Center for Academic Success Tutoring
Berkeley students can receive free tutoring either on-site at a Berkeley campus or online (CASTAnywhere). Tutoring is available for course content as well as writing, study skills, or computer skills. Students have access to both peer and professional tutors, who are available during the day, evenings, and weekends. Tutoring sessions are 45 minutes and may either be one-on-one or in a small group. Students can view availability and make appointments by following these steps:
WriteAid
Looking for feedback on your essay or paper? Submit your paper electronically to the WriteAid Inbox and receive feedback (via email) on your writing assignment in a timely manner. WriteAid helps you improve your drafts and grow your skills for the future by providing you with feedback on the development and structure of your paper as well as comment on syntax and mechanics.
Learning Strategies – Schedule Individual Study Plan Sessions
CAS professional staff can coach you through creating a personalized study plan for more effective learning, whether you are taking on-site or online courses. Not only will we assist you in creating your individualized study plan but we will also meet with you on a consistent basis to support you in its implementation.
Individual study plan sessions often include learning strategies and techniques to help you with:
Berkeley College Library
All Berkeley College students are automatically registered for the library services.
Your student ID number is your library ID number, and your library PIN number consists of the last four digits of your ID.
All currently enrolled students, full and part time employees of the College, active or emeritus Board members, Alumni, and registered members of a VALENJ Reciprocal Borrowing Library are permitted to register as borrowers. Berkeley College-issued digital ID cards are required for students and employees; all other borrowers must present an official identification card.
You can find more information on the Borrowing/Renew/Request section of the library website.
Library cards are used to check out books, audio books, and DVDs.
Berkeley College Database
The Berkeley College library provides access to over 100 databases for a variety of areas and majors. Databases can be found on the library page by subject, database type, or by the vendors/providers.
A library database is a searchable electronic index of published, reliable resources. Databases provide access to a wealth of useful research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Some databases also include e-books, relevant Web resources, and various multimedia.
The information found in databases is either originally created or comes from different, reliable sources.
NOTE: Databases are not “Internet" sources. One must login with their Canvas username & password to use databases.
Click Here to access the Berkeley College Libary Database.
Berkeley College students, faculty, and staff have free access to MS (Microsoft) Office. MS Office downloads are available for both Windows and Mac computers, and mobile devices. You can install Office on up to 5 PCs or Macs, 5 tablets, and 5 smartphones.
Installing Office365 from your Email, follow these steps:
Microsoft Office can be downloaded from your Berkeley College email.
•Go to Office.com
•Login with your Berkeley College email
•Click the button Install and More
•Click the link Install Microsoft 365 apps
•Click the button Install Office
All students are entitled to five copies of Microsoft Office.
Available on Windows OS and Mac OS.
What Are Pronouns? Pronouns are the words you may like others to use for you in place of your proper name. Some examples include “she/her” or “he/him” or gender-neutral pronouns, such as “ze/hir,” [pronounced: zee/heer] or “they/them”. Some people use specific pronouns, any pronouns, or none at all. Here is an example of using “they/them” in a sentence: John is substituting for me today and they are an incredible mathematician. Using singular “they” pronouns have been used in the English language for centuries. If you are still struggling with using this, remember, it takes practice!
Why Focus on Pronouns? You may have noticed that people are sharing their pronouns in introductions, on name tags, and at the beginning of meetings. This gives everyone in the room the opportunity to self identify instead of assuming someone’s identity or which pronouns they use. Including pronouns is a first step toward respecting people’s identity and creating a more welcoming space for people of all genders.
Want to learn more about Pronouns? Click Here to visit the GLSEN website!
A preferred or chosen name is a name you commonly use that is different from your legal name – it is about what you want to be called.
While we use the phrase “preferred name,” for many people, this is not just a preference; it is the only name they use and is essential to their identity.
How to Add your Preferred Name and Pronouns to your Canvas Profile:
After changing your display name in Canvas, people will see your updated preferred name in discussions, messages and comments (it will not change your legal name in the grade book).
Once you add your pronouns in Canvas, they will appear after your name when enabled.
How to change your Berkeley College Email Display Name
To update your Berkeley College Email Display Name to your preferred name, simply fill out the “E-mail Display Name Change Form” by clicking HERE or following the steps below.
To access the eForm:
Please note that this will not change your Berkeley College email address, only your display name, as it appears connected to your email address. This is not an official name change.
In order to change your name on all official College documents, please provide the necessary legal name change documentation to the Office of the Registrar.
How to change your Berkeley College Email Display Name
To update your Berkeley College Email Display Name to your preferred name, simply fill out the “E-mail Display Name Change Form” by clicking HERE or following the steps below.
To access the eForm:
Please note that this will not change your Berkeley College email address, only your display name, as it appears connected to your email address. This is not an official name change.
In order to change your name on all official College documents, please provide the necessary legal name change documentation to the Office of the Registrar.
