A trade association or industry association is an organization founded and funded by businesses that operate in a specific industry. An industry trade association participates in public relations, publishing, education, and lobbying activities. Associations may offer other services, such as producing conferences, setting industry standards, holding networking or charitable events, or offering classes or educational materials. Many associations are non-profit organizations governed by bylaws and directed by officers who are also members.
Although some of the information on the websites of these organizations is only available for members, the websites can have a wealth of information that may not be available elsewhere. Many of these organizations are supportive of students and are willing to provide information free of charge to students.
IAB is a trade association for many types of digital media, including online, wireless,social media, interactive television, and gaming. The IAB site has educational materials on interactive marketing, including case studies, research summaries, industry statistics, and industry guidelines.
Free resources related to wireless advertising (best practices, case studies, an industry directory).
An independent, nonprofit organization founded 1981 to promote press freedom worldwide, CPJ lists abuses against the press and acts on behalf of imprisoned and threatened journalists
Nonprofit organization providing free legal assistance to journalists since 1970. News on legal actions involving freedom of the press, guides for accessing legal and public records, medical privacy, photographers and privacy rights, gag orders, much more
An organization that fights for press freedom and denounces violations of human rights all over the world. Provides news & alerts on various issues concerning freedom of the press via over 100 correspondents from the all over the world.
Publishes a toolbox with resources to set up and organize your social media channels.
Explores the fast-changing environment for public media with particular attention paid to the evolution of documentary film and video in a digital era. Excellent teaching and learning resources for issues regarding intellectual property and fair use.
Statistics on readership, newspaper web audience, and average issue demographic composition
Magazine Media Factbook provides statistics about magazine readership and engagement, including figures for consumers of specific product types. Elsewhere on the site, find magazine advertising case studies by industry or advertiser.
"The Institute for Public Relations (IPR) is a nonprofit foundation dedicated to research in, on and for public relations. We investigate the science beneath the art of public relations™."
"The Museum of Public Relations is a 501(c)(3) educational institution chartered by the New York State Board of Regents to serve the world's growing community of public relations students, educators, researchers and practitioners." At Baruch College’s Newman Library Archives and Special Collections.
Online access to an informative newspaper called "Strategies & Tactics"
Sells program packages to local television
stations, including re-runs, movies, daytime series, and other original programming. In addition to educational materials and reports on the effectiveness of syndicated television advertising, the site offers a database of syndicated programming that can be sorted multiple ways, including by genre or target audience.
Promotes advantages of advertising on local stations and offers useful information for media planners. Designated Marketing Area profiles offer statistics on television households and local station links. Elsewhere on the site you’ll find Nielsen ratings and rankings of various types of programming, as well as numerous relevant television advertising statistics and educational m
Offers detailed audience statistics, consumer studies, and educational material on radio advertising. The large database of MP3 radio ads in the creative section can be searched by industry and product type.
Use this member directory to identify radio and television stations by state, city, or designated market area. Unfortunately, only members are listed and stations are not linked, so you must google station names for details.
This database of cable network profiles is invaluable for media planners. Profiles include estimates of network viewers, base demographics, and programming genres. Look closely to find PDF files with complete profiles that offer more details about audience demographics.