When it comes to entrepreneurship, there are many pathways you can take:
Before you can start your company, you'll need to understand the industry within which you will be operating. Different industries have different threats and opportunities you'll need to consider: Pending legislation or a difficult regulatory environment? High/low barriers to entry? Major competitors and market concentration? Standard cost structure? All of these are issues you will address via your industry research.
The two primary datavvases for industry information at Berkeley College are IBIS and Plunkett. The link to access these databases as well as other databases that may be of interest are included below.
Jan 9, 2024
Entrepreneurship for Dummies by 
50 Golden Rules : The Beginner's Guide to Entrepreneurship by 
The Startup Leap by 
Your Comprehensive Guide to Franchise Success by Provides financial, technical and management assistance to help Americans start, run, and grow their businesses.
The Commercial Service is the global business solutions unit of the Department of Commerce. They help businesses export goods and services to markets worldwide.
The Census Business Builder is a suite of services that provides selected data at the county and city level tailored to people looking to start a small business; includes socioeconomic and demographic data, key industry statistics, and even consumer spending data!
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. Industry reports are available at the national and state levels; survey includes large, medium and small companies representing all U.S. locations and industries.
CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
A portal linking to individual industry guides that provide sources for industry information, research, and analysis for more than 400 industries. Guides often include list resources available from trade associations, industry publications, research firms, and other sources addressing subjects such as industry analysis, statistics, trends, and forecasts, financial information and financial ratios, compensation and salary surveys, and business valuation resources.
Note: Be aware, industry guides linked to are not always free for full use of the resource.
A brief overview of the industry, workforce and earnings statistics, industry-specific pricing information and workplace trends.