LibGuides v.2: ENG 2215: Public Speaking Persuasive Speech Assigment: Websites/Videos

Using Videos for Your Speech

Videos can be useful for your persuasive speech because:

1. If you are a visual learner, watching videos may help you to better retain the information. The Library's streaming media collections include many videos on persuasive topics.

2. Videos of speeches can provide a visual representation of what your final product should look like.

Below are some suggested videos which can be cited just like any other source using each database's citation tools.

Brilliant Public Speaking
The fear of public speaking is said to be even stronger than the fear of death. The good news is that public speaking is something that a person can learn—and excel at. This video features top speakers and public speaking coaches who share their superb advice on how to speak confidently in any situation. Topics include choosing your subject, preparation, rehearsal, dealing with nervousness, dress codes, keeping the audience’s interest, timing, delivery style, building rapport, coping with mistakes, PowerPoint, and more. This is the definitive step-by-step guide to an inspired presentation!
Public Speaking: Time to Stand
In this program, Dr. Tina Dupree, president of the Motivational Training Center and founder of the Professional Speakers Network, shares her proven techniques for building confidence as a public speaker. How to turn fear into an asset, master the art of small talk, create a "30-second commercial," assess an audience, choose the right words, organize a speech, improve delivery, and other topics are addressed, along with the ten dos and don’ts of creating a winning speech.
The Elements of Argument
The Elements of Argument reviews the basic elements of argumentative writing, concentrating on an unresolved event from the past.

Finding Videos

How to Search Films on Demand
How to use additional streaming media collections

FAQ: Where do I find streaming media?
This FAQ will provide information on finding and using videos for your paper.

Streaming Video Collection
This LibGuide provides access to the various Berkeley College Streaming Media collections.

Websites for Persuasive Speech

Refer to your course content for specific lectures and information on persuasive speeches and presenting. For additional information, you can review the websites below.

Examples of famous persuasive speeches
This list provides examples of famous persuasive speeches which can be found in the Library Databases or on YouTube.
What Is Persuasive Speech? (Plus 10 Tips for Creating One)
Sample Persuasive Speech