Surgical Technology

**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 in General Surgery** Prepare to deliver the best patient care before, during, and after surgery with this approachable guide to surgical skills and operating room procedures. In addition to covering all the content in the AST Core Curriculum, this one-of-a-kind text offers a unique mentoring approach and engaging learning features that make even complex skills and techniques easy to understand. Comprehensive coverage addresses all areas of the AST Core Curriculum for Surgical Technology. Reader-friendly writing style and organization builds content from fundamental concepts, aseptic technique, and the role and function of the surgical technologist, to the specialty surgical procedure chapters.

Prepare for success on your CNOR certification exam and in perioperative nursing! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 16th Edition is the definitive resource for nurses and surgical technologists training to assist in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care. New to this edition is additional coverage of robotic surgery and of cultural awareness, along with the latest standards of practice. From well-known educator Jane C. Rothrock - and with every chapter authored by an expert surgeon/nurse writing team - Alexander's gives you the tools you need to provide safe, high-quality care in the surgical setting. Over 400 general and specialty surgical interventions are covered, as well as many minimally invasive surgical procedures, whether performed in a hospital, outpatient clinic, or in a doctor's office. 900 full-color photos and illustrations show surgical anatomy, procedures, and methods. Comprehensive coverage includes basic perioperative nursing principles, such as patient and environmental safety, infection prevention and control, positioning, anesthesia and pain management, the unique needs of special populations such as pediatric and geriatric patients, and more. Comprehensive practice exams on the Evolve companion website include 300 exam-style questions with rationales.

Packed with detailed, full-color illustrations and live surgery images, market-leading SURGICAL TECHNOLOGY FOR THE SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIST: A POSITIVE CARE APPROACH, 5e, delivers the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of over 200 essential surgical procedures. It also includes essential topics such as equipment and supplies, operative preparation, practical and technical considerations, and postoperative considerations. "Pearls of Wisdom" features offer practical insight from surgical technologists in the field, and numerous learning resources help you maximize your course success -- including "A POSITIVE CARE" memory tool, real-life case studies with critical thinking questions, and the powerful digital learning solution MindTap. Preparing you for real-world practice, SURGICAL TECHNOLOGY FOR THE SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIST, 5e, is the ultimate resource for helping you anticipate the patient's and surgeon's needs before, during, and after a surgical procedure.

Learn pharmacology with the trusted text written specifically for surgical technologists! Pharmacology for the Surgical Technologist, 5th Edition ensures that as an integral member of the operating room team, you have an in-depth understanding of surgical medications. It covers everything a surg tech needs to know, including basic pharmacology, dosage calculations, safe handling of medications, terminology, and drug effects and side effects. If you are interested in becoming a surgical first assistant, many chapters also include coverage of advanced practice. Written by Tiffany Howe, CST, CSFA, FAST, MBA, an educator, and Angie Burton, CST, FAST, a practicing surg tech, this book covers all areas of pharmacology designated in the AST Core Curriculum for Surgical Technology. Coverage of pharmacology meets the needs of the Surgical Technologist and includes all areas designated in the AST Core Curriculum for Surgical Technology, 6th Edition.  Advanced Practice sections in each chapter provide content relating to the role of the first surgical assistant, helping students who want to advance to that role, and keeps this text useful as a professional reference.