BOOK COLLECTIONS
eBook Central
135,406 titles covering course topics
Read online or download to multiple devices
EBSCOHost eBooks
Collection of 7000 titles.
Read online, download, save, cite
GALE Virtual Reference Library
Business Plans, Management Encyclopedia
REFERENCE WORKS/FACT CHECKING
Biography in Context
Britannica Encyclopedia
Oxford English Dictionary
REPORTS/RESEARCH
ProQuest
In addition to full-length articles from scholarly journals, trade publications and reports, ProQuest also links directly of eBrary eBooks.
Successful Project Management by
Gido/Clements's best-selling SUCCESSFUL PROJECT MANAGEMENT, 6E presents everything you need to know to work successfully in today's exciting project management environment, from the organization and management of effective project teams to planning, scheduling, and cost management. Revised chapters closely align with the PMBOK (Project Management Body of Knowledge) framework to ensure that you are mastering today's best management practices. Coverage of the latest business developments and challenges introduce issues such as project constraints, the project charter, and how projects relate to an organization's strategic plan.
Understanding Project Management by
Understanding Project Management takes an applied approach to the study of project management, carefully balancing reflective practice and methodology necessary for successful deployment of tools and techniques in the real world.Including plenty of practical examples as well as contemporary real-world case studies, Understanding Project Management takes a unique approach to the study of project management with an emphasis on international aspects and dilemmas that are increasingly common in the contemporary world. With a host of features to encourage reflection and reinforce learning, it is the ideal complement for independent or classroom study on a range of business courses.Understanding Project Management helps managers understand project management, develop perspectives in application, and, through reflection, enables them to develop a project management capability, at an individual, organization or project level.
Implementing Organizational Project Management by
A growing number of organizations have embraced organizational project management (OPM) in an effort to increase performance and gain a competitive advantage in the marketplace. Research shows that a successful OPM strategy is dependent upon strong project management methodology one that aligns organizational goals across the portfolio of projects. An effective project management methodology provides a standardized, organization- or situation-specific approach that encourages efficient use of resources.
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) by
A reflection on the collaboration and knowledge of working project managers that provides the fundamentals of project management as they apply to a wide range of projects. This internationally recognized standard provides the essential tools to practice project management and deliver organizational results.
Project Management 2. 0 by
Get connected and improve outcomes with a more modern approach to project management Project Management 2.0 tackles the new emerging approach and toolset for practicing project management in a virtual world. Author Harold Kerzner is recognized as the thought leader in project management, and in this book, he shows how PM 2.0 offers better outcomes with a focus on new tools, better governance, improved collaboration, and more meaningful reporting using KPIs, metrics, and dashboards. This full color guide explores the impact PM 2.0 changes are having on organizations around the world, and provides a detailed comparison with PM 1.0 to help practitioners adopt new techniques and tools to use within their existing project management approach. At its core, PM 2.0 recognizes that a new generation of workers grew up in a Web 2.0 world of web-based project management tools that allow virtual or distributed teams to work together much more closely than in the past. Advances in technology and information flow have shown that traditional project management techniques are ineffective for many of today's projects. This book offers an alternative with PM 2.0, an updated approach that aligns more closely with the modern workflow. Discover the new project management tools that are changing the workflow Learn how to improve collaboration with stakeholders Explore new ideas and processes for better project governance Achieve more meaningful information reporting with traditional tools Project management is an integral component of successful business operations. With today's technology, teams are no longer limited by distance or time zones - so why are they being managed with approaches that are? This book provides a framework more relevant to the way people work today. For the project manager looking to increase efficiency and improve outcomes, Project Management 2.0 provides the information and tools that can make it happen.
Fundamentals of Project Management by
Now in its fourth edition, an indispensable project management resource, fully updated for today's project manager.
Performance-Based Project Management® by
Projects fail to meet goals for many reasons: poor time and budget performance, failure to deal with complexity, uncontrolled changes in scope... Even the most experienced project managers can be caught off guard in the presence of these forces. Performance-Based Project Management shows readers how they can increase the probability of project success, detailing a straightforward plan for avoiding surprises, forecasting performance, identifying risk, and taking corrective action to keep a project a success. Based on the "Five Immutable Principles of Project Success," this book shows project leaders how to assess the business capabilities needed for a project; plan and schedule the work; determine the resources required to complete on time and on budget; identify and manage risks to success; and measure performance in units meaningful to decision makers. Project managers will learn the core practices for each principle, as well as associated processes, so that they can lay the foundation for project success from the start. They'll discover how each process produces "artifacts," which provide feedback as to whether everything is going well--and if not, when and how it will be fixed. Each practice is illustrated through examples and tailored for different levels of complexity and risk to help project managers ensure that project aren't just done--they're done right.
Project Management by
A new edition of the most popular book of project management case studies, expanded to include more than 100 cases plus a "super case" on the Iridium Project Case studies are an important part of project management education and training. This Fourth Edition of Harold Kerzner's Project Management Case Studies features a number of new cases covering value measurement in project management. Also included is the well-received "super case," which covers all aspects of project management and may be used as a capstone for a course. This new edition: Contains 100-plus case studies drawn from real companies to illustrate both successful and poor implementation of project management Represents a wide range of industries, including medical and pharmaceutical, aerospace, manufacturing, automotive, finance and banking, and telecommunications Covers cutting-edge areas of construction and international project management plus a "super case" on the Iridium Project, covering all aspects of project management Follows and supports preparation for the Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification Exam Project Management Case Studies, Fourth Edition is a valuable resource for students, as well as practicing engineers and managers, and can be used on its own or with the new Eleventh Edition of Harold Kerzner's landmark reference, Project Management: A Systems Approach to Planning, Scheduling, and Controlling.
The Project by
It’s September 2009, one year since the collapse of Lehman Brothers, and Colin has just lost his job. Luckily, he is soon hired as a project manager in a big international investment bank, but quickly finds himself dealing with office politics, dodgy vendors, hostile project sponsors and the difficult task of managing across global time zones. Will his training and skills in project management help him to get this high-risk project over the line, or will his controversial attempts at turning the failing project around lead to his swift dismissal? Through this compelling and suspenseful story, we learn about objective, professional project management and the difference between managing a project and managing a project management career. We are exposed to project management interview techniques. We learn, through Colin’s effective project management, through his mistakes and through the escalation of tension and conflict, about the essential ingredients that drive successful global projects and we learn the tricks of the trade from the inside. The Projectis an insider’s guide to developing a career in project management, written in the form of a novel. Insightful and entertaining, it guides the reader through the process of project management by telling the story of Colin’s time working in a global investment bank. This is the perfect book for anyone looking to develop a career in global project management.
Project Management Leadership by
Project Management Leadership is a comprehensive guide to the human factors involved in Project Management, in particular the leadership skills required to ensure successful implementation of current best practice. It provides the latest insights on team building, motivation, collaboration, and networking skills, and the way these can be harnessed to manage a successful project. Exercises and worked examples are provided throughout.
HBR Guide to Project Management by Harvard Business School Pres
Whether you're managing your first project or just tired of improvising, this guide will give you the tools and confidence you need to define smart goals, meet them, and capture lessons learned so future projects go even more smoothly.
Managing Projects: Expert Solutions to Everyday Challenges by Harvard Business School Press
When a new project is handed to them, readers can use this guide to help juggle the gamut of tasks required to get the job done.
Harvard Business Essentials Managing Projects Large and Small by Harvard Business School Press
When it comes to project management, success lies in the details. This book walks managers through every step of project oversight from start to finish.
Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time by Jeff Sutherland
For those who believe that there must be a more agile and efficient way for people to get things done, here from Scrum pioneer Jeff Sutherland is a brilliantly discursive, thought-provoking book about the leadership and management process that is changing the way we live.
Cracking the PM Interview: How to Land a Product Manager Job in Technology by Gayle Laakmann McDowell
Cracking the PM Interview is a comprehensive book about landing a product management role in a startup or bigger tech company.