These websites available provide relevant resources about disability awareness (include websites of relevant resources available to the public such as: online magazines/journals, national/regional/state regional conference reports, forthcoming events, blogs, RSS Feeds, etc.,).
If you have a disability that makes employment hard for you, you may be eligible for services to help you prepare for, obtain, and maintain a job. Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) is a U.S. Department of Education funded program that provides these services in every state, territory, and many Indian Nations. Vocational Rehabilitation serves all disability groups, but some states have a separate program called State Services for the Blind that provides specialized services for individuals with legal blindness.
To qualify for VR services, an individual must:
People who receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and/or Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits are considered eligible for VR, unless they are too disabled to benefit.
Vocational Rehabilitation is an individualized employment program. Participants may receive diagnosis, an individualized rehabilitation program, counseling and guidance, training, job placement, and services to support job retention. Many applicants are referred by schools, hospitals, welfare agencies, and other organizations, but you may apply directly for service.
Contact your local office for the specific process to apply. You will be asked to submit a written application, and given instructions there. Eligibility decisions are made within 60 days of application.
Find your nearest local office by either contacting your state’s vocational rehabilitation office, or through the American Job Center network, where many Vocational Rehabilitation staff are located.
The following links come from AccessCollege, a resource created by The University of Washington's DO-IT Center (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology). According to their website, "The AccessCollege Center guides faculty, technology, service providers, veterans units, employers, and students in promoting the success of all students, including those with disabilities, in postsecondary studies and careers."
The following links are key government and organizational websites that provide resources, services, and support to people with disabilities.
Explore our Library Catalog on your own or learn more about browsing our print book collections!
The books below are just a few of those included in our collection. If you can't visit the NYC Library, feel free to submit a request and we will send the book to your campus library.
Job Search Handbook for People with Disabilities by
This complete career planning and job search guide for people with physical and mental disabilities has been completely updated to reflect the newest job search technologies and techniques. It will help readers identify their strengths; explore career options; find job openings; explore the hidden job market; write resumes, cover letters, and follow-up letters; and perform well in interviews. The author shows readers how to tell potential employers about their disabilities and ask them for reasonable accommodations, and helps readers understand and navigate employment law as it applies to them.
Invest Like a Shark: How a Deaf guy with no job and limited capital made a fortune investing in the stock market by
Profit from Your Unique Advantages as a Small Investor--Speed and Flexibility! "The book you are holding is, hands-down, one of the most original and insightful books I have ever read when it comes to teaching you, the individual investor, not only why you have the ability to beat the Whales of Wall Street, but also how you can do it." --from the foreword by James J. Cramer, CNBC's Mad Money and TheStreet.com "Even investors who concentrate on fundamentals can benefit from Jim DePorre's Shark approach to investing. At the very least they will know why, for a time, they can get the facts right but the stock wrong." --Herb Greenberg, senior columnist, MarketWatch.com "There are very few traders who have RevShark's intuitive feel for the market. I especially appreciate Rev's unique ability to recognize and utilize the distinct advantages of being a smaller, individual investor versus the less agile large institutions." --Barry Ritholtz, Chief Investment Officer, Ritholtz Capital Partners As an individual investor, you can swim circles around the "whales" of Wall Street...by investing like a shark! In this book, James "RevShark" DePorre reveals how to maximize your powerful and unique advantages as a small investor: speed and flexibility. You'll develop a completely new way of looking at the stock market, learn when to attack, how to move aggressively, how to stay flexible...and when to swim away in the face of danger. You'll learn why "buy and hold" is today's riskiest strategy...and exactly what to do instead. In short, you'll learn the same disciplined investment techniques that helped DePorre build a tiny nest egg into a huge fortune and transformed his life. If you read TheStreet.com, RealMoney.com, or SharkInvesting.com, you already know DePorre and his inspiring personal story of how he lost his hearing, career, and marriage...turned to online investing out of desperation...and succeeded beyond his wildest dreams. Now, in this fast-paced, insightful, and entertaining book, DePorre shows how you can do it, too. How to invest like a shark... Stay in motion, trolling for your "next meal" Stalk your prey patiently, relentlessly, and without emotion Move fast when there's blood in the water Know when to strike Know when to swim away Sell when you sense danger Feed on the frenzied crowd Profit from others' fear, despair, stupidity, and greed Use all your unique advantages and strengths Leverage small caps, technical analysis, and the tremendous power of cash Invest with the shark's attitude Be active, adaptive--and control your own destiny
Just Don't Fall: a hilariously true story of childhood, cancer, amputation, romantic yearning, truth, and Olympic greatness by
Read Josh Sundquist's posts on the Penguin Blog. "Just Don't Fall is one of the most inspiring books I have ever read-not too mention poignant and funny." -A.J. Jacobs This winning memoir of triumph over tragedy tells a story that has deeply affected thousands of readers. When he was just nine years old, Josh Sundquist was diagnosed with Ewing's sarcoma, a virulent cancer strain that eventually claimed his left leg. Told in a wide-eyed, often heartbreaking voice, Just Don't Fall is the astounding story of the boy Josh was and of the young man he became-an utterly heroic struggle through numerous hospitalizations and worse to become an award-winning skier in the Paralympics and renowned motivational speaker. What emerges is one of the most fresh and sincere works of inspiration to come along in years.
Learning a Living by
This guide discusses how to find a job that uses people's strentghs and minimizes their disabilities. It emphasizes self-awareness, a positive attitude, research, and enlisting the help of others as the keys to success.
Explore our main e-book database, Ebook Central, on your own, or learn more about browsing our e-book collections!
Check out our list of suggested E-books available in our Ebook Central database:
Career Success of Disabled High-Flyers by 
Employment for Individuals with Asperger Syndrome or Non-Verbal Learning Disability by 
The Road Ahead: Transition to Adult Life for Persons with Disabilities by 
Nurses with Disabilities by 
I Can't Walk But I Can Crawl by 
Autism Equality in the Workplace by Search for DVDs available at Berkeley through the Library Catalog, or learn to browse our streaming media collections!
Check out this list of suggested streaming videos available through our Kanopy database: