LibGuides v.2: Nursing Research: Journals

Nursing Core

This list of journals is a sample selection of the hundreds of full text scholarly, peer-reviewed titles available within the Library Collection of Databases and open access journal content from reliable publishers. To search for a journal not listed below, search for the specific title in the A-Z Publication Finder.

AACN Bold Voices From the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. Covers topics in critical care nursing, radiology, oncology, administrative concerns, etc.
AJN, American Journal of Nursing The Journal's mission is to promote excellence in professional nursing, with a global perspective, by providing cutting edge, evidence-based information that embraces a holistic perspective on health and nursing. Full text coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the January 1996 issue.
Annals of Long-Term Care ALTC features peer-reviewed educational & informational articles on topics including: clinical diagnosis and management; quality improvement initiatives; care transitions; medication safety and deprescribing; prevention of hospital readmissions; and end-of-life care planning.
AORN Journal: The Official Voice of Perioperative Nursing Scholarly, evidence-based, peer-reviewed articles that convey standards of excellence and innovations in the delivery of perioperative nursing.
Critical Care Nurse Publishes practical, clinically relevant manuscripts describing care of critically ill patients & their families. Provides information concerning the bedside care of critically & acutely ill patients.
Evidence-based Nursing Evidence-Based Nursing systematically searches a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research and relevance to best nursing practice. Content is critically appraised then the most relevant articles are summerized into a succinct expert commentary focusing on the papers key findings and implications for clinical practice.
The Journal for Nurse Practitioners The official publication of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners, this peer-reviewed journal provides a resource for nurse practitioners stay current with the clinical and policy concerns affecting their day-to-day practice. .
Journal of Gerontological Nursing A monthly, peer-reviewed journal publishing clinically relevant original articles on the practice of gerontological nursing across the continuum of care in a variety of health care settings
Journal of Nursing Scholarship Contains thought-provoking articles representing research by some of the world's leading nurse researchers, focused on health of people throughout the world. It is the official journal of Sigma Theta Tau International.
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing & Mental Health Services s a monthly, peer-reviewed journal for mental health nurses in a variety of community and institutional settings. Includes practical information available for today’s psychosocial nurse, including short contributions about psychopharmacology, mental health care of older adults, and child/adolescent disorders and issues.
Journal of Trauma Nursing International trauma nursing journal, focused on the care of the trauma patient throughout the continuum of care
MEDSURG Nursing Provides multidisciplinary information needed to provide clinically excellent patient care & to enhance nursing practices.
Nurse Educator Original articles cover the practice and theory of nursing education, including curriculum and program development, educational philosophy, teaching methods, instructional materials, testing and measurement, and administration. Peer-reviewed articles outline the trends that are shaping the future of nursing education and provide practical guidance on current issues. Full text coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the January 1996 issue.
Nursing A monthly publication, Nursing is the journal of choice among practicing nurses. Known for its easy-to-read style and commitment to quality, it keeps nurses up-to-date on peer-reviewed evidence-based practice about key clinical topics, including cardiac and respiratory care, new drugs, new treatments, and nursing techniques. Clinical illustrations, photographs, and charts help clarify complex clinical concepts.
Nursing: Research and Reviews An international, peer-reviewed, open access online journal publishing original research, reviews, editorials and commentaries on all aspects of nursing and patient care.
Nursing Economics Nursing Economic$ advances nursing leadership in health care, with a focus on tomorrow, by providing information and thoughtful analyses of current and emerging best practices in health care management, economics, and policymaking. The journal supports nurse leaders and others who are responsible for directing nursing's impact on health care cost and quality outcomes.
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing Provides a forum to exchange ideas & data about topics that affect nursing practice, education & research. Addresses major health care concerns for health care professionals, explored from a variety of viewpoints.
Pediatric Nursing Provides current information on practice, policy, and research for pediatric nurses. Emphasis is places on the changing role of the pediatric nurse practitioner/clinical specialist.
Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing This peer-reviewed journal and top information resource from The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, uniquely bridges knowledge and application, taking a global approach in its presentation of research, policy and practice, education and management, and its link to action in real world settings.

Related Science Journals

There are hundreds of journals containing research and articles related to infectious diseases, microbiology, and nutrition. A small sampling of titles is listed below. To search for a journal by name use the A-Z Publication Finder.

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition (AJCN) The most highly rated peer-reviewed, primary research journal in nutrition and dietetics, The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition (AJCN) publishes the latest research on topics in nutrition, such as obesity, vitamins and minerals, nutrition and disease, and energy metabolism.
Archives of Virology Publishes original contributions from all branches of research on viruses and virus-like agents that infect humans and other animals, plants, insects, and bacteria.
BMC Infectious Diseases BMC Infectious Diseases is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the prevention, diagnosis and management of infectious and sexually transmitted diseases in humans, as well as related molecular genetics, pathophysiology, and epidemiology.
Emerging Infectious Diseases Open access, peer reviewed journal published monthly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, which promotes the recognition of new and reemerging infectious diseases around the world and improves the understanding of factors involved in disease emergence, prevention, and elimination.
Epidemiology and Infection Publishes original reports and reviews on all aspects of infection in humans and animals. Particular emphasis is given to the epidemiology, prevention and control of infectious diseases. The field covered is broad and includes the zoonoses, tropical infections, food hygiene, vaccine studies, statistics and the clinical, social and public-health aspects of infectious disease. Papers covering microbiology and immunology which have an epidemiological relevance are part of this broad field.
PLOS: Pathogens (Public Library of Science) Reflecting the full breadth of research on bacteria, fungi, parasites, prions and viruses, PLOS Pathogens publishes outstanding original research and commentary that significantly advance the understanding of pathogens and how they interact with their host organisms.