A bibliography is a list of sources (books, articles, ebooks, Websites, images, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" lists, depending on the style (format) you are using. A bibliography includes a number of specific information such as author, title, publisher, date of publication, etc.
An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation.
In annotated bibliography - each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation.
Annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources listed. Depending on your project or the assignment, annotations may do one or more of the following:
Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.
Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?
Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?
Annotations: for each source are written in a paragraph form. The lengths of the annotations can vary significantly from a couple of sentences to a couple of pages. The length will depend on the purpose. If you're just writing summaries of your sources, the annotations may not be very long. However, if you are writing an extensive analysis of each source, you'll need more space.
