 |
Information Creation as a Process refers to the understanding that the purpose, message, and delivery of information are intentional acts of creation. Recognizing the nature of information creation, experts look to the underlying processes of creation as well as the final product to critically evaluate the usefulness of the information. - Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education
HOW TO INCORPORATE INFORMATION CREATION AS A PROCESS? Highlight the different ways information is created depending on the purpose or information need. Have students assess the fit between the way a piece of information was created and the need it fulfills, noting possible tension that may exist because of funding source, inherent bias, or efforts to deceive. Consider: Who are the gatekeepers (professional organizations, publishing companies, newsmakers, politicians, etc.) that shape the information creation process in your field? |
|---|
Below is a list of all the information literacy concepts that are covered on this page. Click the links below to go directly to that concept or scroll down the page to view each one.
| Peer Review Process Overview | |
| Description: | The presentation introduces the peer review process and explains its importance in the creation of reliable information. Review the process with students & conclude with an interview activity in which students ask professor questions about publishing research in his/her field of study. |
| ACRL Frames Addressed: | Scholarship as a Conversation, Information Creation as a Process |
| Resource Type(s): | PowerPoint |
| Assessment Tool: | Quiz |
| Contributor(s): | Dina Meky, Samantha Kannegiser |
| Last Updated: | February 2017 |
| Tags: | scholarly sources, peer review, interview, research process |
| Scholarly versus Popular Sources | |
| Description: | This assignment helps students differentiate between popular and scholarly sources, and illustrates the advantages of articles produced through the peer review process. At the end of this activity, students should be able to compare and contrast four different types of information sources, recognize differences between scholarly and non-scholarly articles, and recognize the importance of authorship. |
| ACRL Frame Addressed: | Scholarship as a Conversation, Information Creation as a Process |
| Resource Type(s): | Discussion Board or In Class Group Discussion |
| Assessment Tool: | |
| Contributor(s): | Masunaga, Jennifer. "Scholarly vs. Popular ." CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments), 2015. https://www.projectcora.org/assignment/scholarly-vs-popular. |
| Last Updated: | July 2015 |
| Tags: | scholarly, popular, source types |
| Journal Transparency Index | |
|---|---|
|
Description: |
Using a proposed Transparency Index, students select an academic journal in their field using the library's journal finder feature. Individually or in groups, rate the journals according to the transparency index in order to critically evaluate information produced through peer review and identify potential issues with the peer review process. |
| ACRL Frame Addressed: | Scholarship as Conversation, Information Creation as a Process |
| Resource Type(s): | |
| Assessment Tool: | |
| Contributor(s): | Samantha Kannegiser |
| Last updated: | February 2017 |
| Tags: | transparency, credibility, peer review, critical thinking |
| Information Content, Tone, & Purpose | |
| Description: | Students will be given different information sources (a journal article, a credible tweet, a blog, a newspaper article, etc) are will be asked to evaluate the information sources content, tone, and purpose in a large group. They will then discuss the article in the context of two other information sources on the same topic in a smaller group and complete the worksheet. Discussion will follow. |
| ACRL Frames Addressed: | Information Creation as a Process |
| Resource Type(s): | Tutorial, Discussion, and Worksheet. |
| Assessment Tool: | (TBD) |
| Contributor(s): | Edited from Project CORA |
| Last Updated: | November 2017 |
| Tags: | social media, information sources, evaluating sources, analyzing information |
| Creating an Annotated Bibliography | |
| Description: | This guide will walk your students through the importance and creation of an annotated bibliography. The tutorial, worksheet and rubric will help your students effectively analyze their sources and make writing their research papers easier. |
| ACRL Frame Addressed: | Information Creation as a Process |
| Resource Type(s): | Powerpoint, Worksheet/Tutorial. |
| Assessment Tool: | An edited version of this Rubric. |
| Contributor(s): | Dina Meky, Amanda Piekart, Lily Sacharow and the Berkeley College Honors Librarians. |
| Last Updated: | November 2017 |
| Tags: | Bibliography, analyzing sources, evaluating sources, citations |
| Reverse Bibliographic Search | |
| Description: | Reverse Bibliographic Search and Creating a Citation Tree |
| ACRL Frame Addressed: | Information Creation as a Process |
| Resource Type(s): | |
| Assessment Tool: | |
| Contributor(s): | |
| Last Updated: | |
| Tags: | |
| Research Process Overview | |
| Description: |
Students will learn to develop their research skills, deepen their understanding of their topic, brainstorm keywords and search terms as well as practice and refining questions. It will enhance their ability to determine what they don’t know or understand, and where and how to find that information. It also develops and supports student ability to archive and organize information so they can analyze and express their evolving perspective and develop additional research questions. Students will be asked to complete the research log (in groups or individually) and keep track of their research process. Discussion will follow.
|
| ACRL Frame Addressed: | Information Creation as a Process, Searching as Strategic Exploration |
| Resource Type(s): | Research Log Worksheet, Powerpoint |
| Assessment Tool: | |
| Contributor(s): | Dina Meky |
| Last Updated: | November 2017 |
| Tags: | Keyword search, searching, databases, research, exploration, information resources, search engines, filters. |
| Search Strategies | |
| Description: | In this lesson, students learn how they can search even more effectively by selecting specific and unique terms and adding appropriate context terms (e.g., figure, map, diagram, letter) to assist them. They will also practice how to develop keywords and search terms in addition to learning about database and search engine filters. They apply what they learn to continue their research. |
| ACRL Frame Addressed: | Information Creation as a Process, Research as Inquiry, Searching as Strategic Exploration |
| Resource Type(s): | Lesson Plan, Keyword Development Worksheet, and Powerpoint |
| Assessment Tool: | TBD |
| Contributor(s): | Dina Meky, and adapted from the Lesson Plan. |
| Last Updated: | November 2017 |
| Tags: | Keyword search, searching, databases, research, exploration, information resources, search engines, filters. |
| Resource Reflection | |
| Description: | Students are often charged with simply locating and using resources for research projects but rarely have the opportunity to discover or reflect on how information is created or shared. Instead of beginning with direct instruction, this activity employs a problem-based learning activity to allow students to explore the sources on their own initially. This activity prompts students to examine and evaluate a variety of information sources and record their findings in Google Forms. These findings are later discussed in class and the results are used to provide feedback and focus discussion. |
| ACRL Frames Addressed: | Information Creation as a Process |
| Resource Type(s): | Lesson Plan, and Presentation. |
| Assessment Tool: | Discussion Questions |
| Contributor(s): | Jennifer Lau-Bond and Martinique Hallerduff , CARLI |
| Last Updated: | November 2017 |
| Tags: | Sources, information creation, analyzing. |
| Misuse of Data in Media | |
| Description: | This activity will allow students to become more aware of how the media misused data in articles. Break students into groups and provide them with a link to a data that was used in the media. Have them answer the guiding questions to discover the media's misuse of data. |
| ACRL Frames Addressed: | Authority is Constructed and Contextual |
| Resource Type(s): | Activity |
| Assessment Tool: | Discussion Questions |
| Contributor(s): | Statistics How.com , Amanda Piekart |
| Last Updated: | November 2017 |
| Tags: | Skepticism, Critical Thinking, Objectivity, data, |