LibGuides v.2: JUS 4407: Patriot Act Assignment: Find Videos

Using videos in your Research

Videos can be useful to incorporate as research sources in your paper because:

1. If you are a visual learner, watching videos may help you to better retain the information.

2. Documentaries can provide a history of your topic as well as related stories that can strengthen your argument.

3. News videos can provide factual accounts of events that took place. News commentary can provide analysis and opinion-based reporting on your topic.

Videos can be cited just like any other source and the Berkeley College video databases provide tools to help with those citations.

Suggested Video

The Patriot Act Under Fire
To many, worrying about constitutional rights seemed like an archaic luxury while Ground Zero was still smoking. The need for tighter homeland security made civil liberties take a back seat to urgent measures such as the USA PATRIOT Act designed to defend America from terrorists. But two years later, that piece of legislation came under fire from both the left and the right. In this ABC News program, Ted Koppel takes a hard look at the law with representatives of the U.S. Department of Justice, the ACLU, and others.
Mass Collection of U.S. Phone Records Violates the Fourth Amendment: A Debate
Does the mass collection of phone records violate the Fourth Amendment? Some argue that such collection is a gross invasion of privacy, while others contend that it is necessary to keep Americans safe. Does the collection of phone records constitute an unreasonable search and seizure? Or is it valid under the Constitution?
Privacy Lost
FRONTLINE continues the dramatic inside story of mass surveillance in America with Part Two of United States of Secrets, an investigation into the hidden relationship between Silicon Valley and the National Security Agency.

How-To Tutorials

How to Search Films on Demand
How to use additional streaming media collections

FAQ: Where do I find streaming media?
This FAQ will provide information on finding and using videos for your paper.

Streaming Video Collection
This LibGuide provides access to the various Berkeley College Streaming Media collections.