Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Embedding Library Content at Point-of-Need in Canvas

How do I integrate the library's resources and collections into my Canvas courses effectively and efficiently?

Embedding Streaming Media

The Library provides access to thousands of streaming videos that can be embedded into your Canvas assignments, discussions, and modules. Coverage includes documentaries, feature films, and instructional videos. We provide access to licensed content (instant access) and On-Demand content (available upon request). 

The Library’s our Films on Demand streaming video collection is completely integrated into Canvas, allowing one to easily search and embed films into assignments, discussions, and modules. 

We subscribe to two collections from Films on Demand:

Embedding a Films on Demand video in Canvas:

  1. Create a new announcement, discussion, assignment, or page – anywhere you see the “rich text editor” – for this example I’ll create a new discussion board prompt
  2. Open and edit my new discussion – now I see the rich text editor
  3. Look for the little symbol that looks like an “F” and click it
  4. Enter your search terms (ex: social media and marketing)
  5. Find a video, then click the “embed” dropdown menu
    1. Choose the size of the video (small, medium, or large)
  6. Save and Publish

The Library’s AVON streaming video collection is completely integrated into Canvas, allowing one to easily search and embed films into assignments, discussions, and modules.

Embedding AVON videos in Canvas:

  1. Create a new announcement, discussion, assignment, or page – anywhere you see the “rich text editor” – for this example I’ll create a new discussion board prompt
  2. Open and edit my new discussion – now I see the rich text editor
  3. Look for the little symbol that looks like a “V” and click it, then select “Alexander Street Video”
  4. Enter your search terms (ex: social media and marketing)
  5. Find a video, then click the “embed” dropdown menu
    1. Choose the size of the video (small, medium, or large)
  6. Save and Publish

 

The Library’s Kanopy streaming video collection is not fully integrated into Canvas. However, one can still retrieve the embed code for a Kanopy video from the Kanopy website, and manually embed the film into assignments, discussions, and modules.

Retrieving an embed code for Kanopy videos:

  1. Access Kanopy from the Library’s A-Z Database page
  2. Search or browse for a title and select it
  3. Click “Share” underneath the video, then select “embed”
  4. Highlight the embed code and copy it
    1. Pro tip: Control+A to select all, then Control+C to copy

Embedding Kanopy videos in Canvas:

  1. Create a new announcement, discussion, assignment, or page – anywhere you see the “rich text editor” – for this example I’ll create a new discussion board prompt
  2. Open and edit my new discussion – now I see the rich text editor
  3. Look for the “insert/edit media” button and click it
  4. Select the “embed” tab
  5. Paste in the embed code you’ve copied from Kanopy then click “OK”
    1. Pro tip: Control+V to paste
  6. Save and Publish

The Library’s SWANK streaming video collection is not fully integrated into Canvas, and embed codes are not available for SWANK films. Instead, one can include a direct link to the film from your assignments, discussions, and modules.

Retrieving a direct link to SWANK videos:

  1. Access SWANK from the Library’s A-Z Database page
  2. Search or browse for a title and select it
  3. Click “Share” underneath the video, then select “copy direct link”

 

Linking to SWANK videos in Canvas:

  1. Create a new announcement, discussion, assignment, or page – anywhere you see the “rich text editor” – for this example I’ll create a new discussion board prompt
  2. Open and edit my new discussion – now I see the rich text editor
  3. Type in the text you wish to link from (ex: Click here to access the film), then highlight the text
  4. Select the “link to URL” icon
  5. Paste in the URL you’ve copied from SWANK then click “insert link”
    1. Pro tip: Control+V to paste
  6. Save and Publish