Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Streaming Video Collections

Video Collections Licensed by the Library (instant access)

Academic Video Online (AVON) boasts 78,000 streaming video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including business, management, economics, computer science, fashion, nursing, health policy, criminal justice, literature, global issues, writing, interior design, religion, sociology, women’s studies, world history, politics and more!

AVON includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Students will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.

 

The Films on Demand streaming video collections provide access to over 8,000 documentaries and educational video titles covering a wide range of curriculum related topics. The Library subscribes to the Businesses & Economics collection, the Criminal Justice & Law collection, the "Inside Statistics" collection, and a number of individually purchased titles across Science and Health.

The Business & Economics video collection (6,590 titles):

In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.

The Criminal Justice & Law video collection (1,500 titles):

With several hundred titles spanning criminal investigation, legal studies, criminology, and the justice system, this collection covers the basics and also digs deep into the intricacies of topics such as forensic science, homeland security, police training, the criminal mind, juvenile justice, cybercrime, human rights, and more.

The Library subscribes to an array of Facts on File databases, containing more than 75 years’ worth of authoritative content. Known for their unprecedented depth of coverage, the subject-specific databases cover a wide range of disciplines including history, science, literature,  geography, and health. Each of these databases contains streaming video content that you can search or browse for.

The Library has purchased the following vidoe from Docuseek:

Hot Coffee (Documentary)

Seinfeld mocked it. Letterman put it on one of his Top Ten lists. More than 15 years later, the McDonald's coffee case continues to be cited as a prime example of how citizens use 'frivolous' lawsuits to take unfair advantage of America's legal system.But is that an accurate portrayal of the facts? 

 

The Library subscribes to the Britannica Academic database, providing easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights. Britannica Academic combines Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research. The "Media Browse" feature compiles images and videos into categories for searching.

Britannica ImageQuest brings lesson plans, assignments and projects to life with over three million images from 62 leading collections…and growing! The Bridgeman Art Gallery, Getty Images, the Science Photo Library, Ingram Publishing, the National Geographic Society and other trusted image sources have joined with Britannica to provide the best and broadest offering of curriculum-relevant imagery and clip art materials (infographics, signs and symbols, graphic concepts and cool vector illustrations), all rights-cleared for educational, non-commercial use.

Kanopy is a streaming video service offering documentaries and feature films, operating on an annual lease model. After a lease expires, the library loses access to the film unless it renews the lease.

Review our policy for leasing (or renewing) Kanopy films in the "On-Demand Video" section of this guide.